The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for January, 2016

2016 Hugo Awards Nomination Period Open

Nominations are now open for the Hugo Awards and the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, to be presented at MidAmeriConII, the 74th Worldcon, August 17-21, 2016 in Kansas City MO.  You are eligible to nominate if you have an attending or supporting membership for MidAmeriConII, Sasquan (the 2015 Worldcon), or Worldcon 75 […]

Hardinge Wins Costa

The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge (Macmillan Children’s) won the Costa Book of the Year award, presented January 26, 2016. It includes a £30,000 prize. The Book of the Year was selected from five category winners announced previously, which included A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson (Doubleday) for the Costa Novel prize and The Loney by […]

Stephen King’s Short Story Finalists

The six finalists for Stephen King’s short story competition were announced on January 21, 2016: “The Spots”, Paul Bassett Davies “The Unpicking”, Michael Button “Wild Swimming”, Elodie Harper “The Bear Trap”, Neil Hudson “La Mort De L’Amant”, Stuart Johnstone “Eau de Eric”, Manuela Saragosa With more than 800 entries into the competition, the six finalists […]

Smith Wins Prometheus Lifetime Achievement Award

The Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS) has announced that L. Neil Smith will receive a Special Prometheus Award for Lifetime Achievement. Smith created the Prometheus Award in 1979. The time and place of the awards ceremony have yet to be announced. This will be the fourth Lifetime Achievement Award presented by the LFS. Poul Anderson won […]

2015 Stoker Preliminary Ballot

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) announced the preliminary ballot for the 2015 Bram Stoker Awards on January 21, 2016. Superior Achievement in a Novel The Scarlet Gospels, Clive Barker (St. Martin’s) The Catacombs, Jeremy Bates (Ghillinnein) The Fold, Peter Clines (Crown) The Deep, Michaelbrent Collings (self-published) The Cure, JG Faherty (Samhain) Monster, Keith Ferrario (Samhain) […]

David G. Hartwell (1941-2016)

  Editor David G. Hartwell, 74, died January 20, 2016. He suffered head trauma in a fall, was hospitalized, and did not recover from a massive brain bleed. Hartwell was one of the genre’s most accomplished editors, and was equally known for his encyclopedic knowledge of the field and his memorable personal style. David Geddes […]

David Hartwell in Critical Condition

Kathryn Cramer has announced on social media that Tor editor David Hartwell has suffered “a massive brain bleed and is not expected to recover.” We will update as more information is available.

2016 LFS Hall of Fame Finalists

The Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS) has announced the finalists for their 2016 Hall of Fame award, “given in recognition of a classic work of science fiction or fantasy with libertarian themes.” Manna, Lee Correy (1984) Courtship Rite, Donald M. Kingsbury (1982) “As Easy as A.B.C.”, Rudyard Kipling (1912) The Island Worlds, Eric Kotani & John […]

2016 Edgar Awards Nominations

There are a few works and authors of genre interest among the 2016 Edgar Awards nominations, presented annually by the Mystery Writers of America: Best Novel Canary, Duane Swierczynski (Mulholland) Best Short Story “Family Treasures”, Shirley Jackson (Let Me Tell You) “Obits”, Stephen King (The Bazaar of Bad Dreams) Best Young Adult The Sin Eater’s Daughter, Melinda Salisbury […]

ALA 2016 Reading List Winners

The American Library Association announced their 2016 Reading List winners and honor titles, given to the best in genre fiction for adult readers. They were announced January 9, 2016 during the ALA Midwinter Meeting in Boston. Categories including work of SF/F interest follow. Fantasy Uprooted, Naomi Novik (Del Rey) The Aeronaut’s Windlass, Jim Butcher (Roc) Sorcerer to the Crown, Zen […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.