The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for February, 2016

2015 Stoker Awards Final Ballot

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) announced the final ballot for the 2015 Bram Stoker Awards on February 23, 2016. Superior Achievement in a Novel The Scarlet Gospels, Clive Barker (St. Martin’s) The Deep, Michaelbrent Collings (self-published) The Cure, JG Faherty (Samhain) Black Tide, Patrick Freivald (JournalStone) A Head Full of Ghosts, Paul Tremblay (Morrow) Superior […]

2016 Hemming Award Shortlist

The shortlist for the 2016 Norma K. Hemming Award has been announced. The Fire Sermon, Francesca Haig (HarperVoyager) The Pyramids of London, Andrea K Höst (self-published) Theophilus Grey and the Demon Thief, Catherine Jinks (Allen & Unwin) The Orchid Nursery, Louise Katz (Lacuna) The Hush, Skye Melki-Wegner (Penguin Random House) Formaldehyde, Jane Rawson (Seizure) Welcome […]

2015 Kitschies Short List

Finalists for the 2015 Kitschies, awarded to “the year’s most progressive, intelligent, and entertaining works that contain elements of the speculative or fantastic,” have been announced. The Red Tentacle (Novel) The Heart Goes Last, Margaret Atwood (Bloomsbury) Europe at Midnight, Dave Hutchinson (Solaris) The Fifth Season, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit) The Thing Itself, Adam Roberts (Gollancz) […]

Dozois Wins Skylark Award

Gardner Dozois is the recipient of the 2016 Edward E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction (AKA the Skylark Award), presented by the New England Science Fiction Association announced at Boskone 53, held at the Westin Boston Waterfront, February 19-21, 2016. The Skylark is given to “some person, who, in the opinion of the membership, has contributed significantly […]

2015 Nebula Awards Ballot

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America have released the final ballot for the 2015 Nebula Awards. Novel Ancillary Mercy, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK) Barsk: The Elephants’ Graveyard, Lawrence M. Schoen (Tor) The Fifth Season, N. K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK) The Grace of Kings, Ken Liu (Saga) Raising Caine, Charles […]

Cherryh Named SFWA Grand Master

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) have named C.J. Cherryh the 32nd recipient of the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award. SFWA president Cat Rambo said Cherryh “is a master of long-running series involving worlds and characters that the reader can visit and revisit with a true sense of wonder each and every […]

2015 Aurealis Awards Finalists

The 2015 Aurealis Awards finalists, recognizing the best in Australian speculative fiction, have been announced. BEST SCIENCE FICTION NOVEL Crossed, Evelyn Blackwell (self-published) Clade, James Bradley (Penguin) Illuminae, Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (Allen & Unwin) Their Fractured Light, Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner (Allen & Unwin) Renegade, Joel Shepherd (self-published) Twinmaker: Fall, Sean Williams (Allen […]

Carnegie and Greenaway Medal Longlists

The longlists for the Carnegie Medal for best children’s book and the Kate Greenaway Medal for best illustrations in a children’s book have been announced. Titles of of SF/F interest are listed below. Carnegie Medal A Song for Ella Grey, David Almond (Hodder) The Door that Led to Where, Sally Gardner (Hot Key) The Lie Tree, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan) The […]

2016 Compton Crook Award Finalists

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society (BSFS) has announced the finalists for the 2016 Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award: 5 to 1, Holly Bodger (Knopf) Owl and the Japanese Circus, Kristie Charish (Gallery Canada) I Will Love You Forever, Brian Groover (Taproot) The Gracekeepers, Kirsty Logan (Crown) The Thorn of Dentonhill, Marshall Ryan Maresca (DAW) Beasts of Tabat, […]

2016 Ditmar Finalists

Finalists for the 2016 Ditmar Awards for excellence in Australian SF have been announced. Best Novel Lament for the Afterlife, Lisa L. Hannett (ChiZine) Day Boy, Trent Jamieson (Text) The Dagger’s Path, Glenda Larke (Orbit) Graced, Amanda Pillar (Momentum) Zeroes, Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan & Deborah Biancotti (Simon & Schuster) Best Novella or Novelette “The Cherry […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.