The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for March, 2016

World Fantasy Award Trophy Submissions Update

The World Fantasy Awards administration has updated their call for new trophy designs, which was originally announced in November 2015, adding compensation for the winning design: two complimentary memberships to World Fantasy Conventions for ten years; two banquet tickets for the 2016 World Fantasy Convention and complimentary space in the Columbus art room; and discounted […]

2016 Seiun Awards Nominees

The 55th Japan Science Fiction Convention has announced the 2016 Seiun Awards finalists (the Japanese equivalent to the Hugo Awards), honoring the best original and translated works published last year in Japan. The nominees for translated works are: Best Translated Novel The Water Knife, Paolo Bacigalupi, translated by Nakahara Naoya (Hayakawa) Vulcan’s Hammer, Philip K. […]

2016 James White Award Winner

The James White Award Short Story competition has announced this year’s winner: “Rock, Paper, Incisors”, David Cleden “(Perhaps The Answer Is) That We Question At All”, Matt Dove “If Only Kissing Made It So”, Jason Kimble “Wreckwalkers”, Jon Lasser “Let the Bells Ring Out”, Morgan Parks “Deadly Dance”, Trina Marie Phillips Cleden received £200 and […]

2016 Ditmar and Other Australian Awards (Corrected)

The winners of the 2016 Ditmar Awards for excellence in Australian SF have been announced, along with some other Australian awards. Best Novel Lament for the Afterlife, Lisa L. Hannett (ChiZine) Day Boy, Trent Jamieson (Text) The Dagger’s Path, Glenda Larke (Orbit) Graced, Amanda Pillar (Momentum) Zeroes, Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan & Deborah Biancotti (Simon […]

2015 BSFA Awards Winners

The winners for the 2015 British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) Awards have been announced: Best Novel The House of Shattered Wings, Aliette de Bodard (Gollancz) Mother of Eden, Chris Beckett (Corvus) Europe at Midnight, Dave Hutchinson (Solaris) Luna: New Moon, Ian McDonald (Gollancz) Glorious Angels, Justina Robson (Gollancz) Best Short Story “Three Cups of Grief, by Starlight”, Aliette de Bodard (Clarkesworld 1/15) Witches of Lychford, Paul Cornell ( “No Rez”, Jeff Noon (Interzone 9-10/15) Binti, Nnedi Okorafor […]

Apex Takes PKD Award

The 2016 Philip K. Dick Award winner has been announced: Apex by Ramez Naam (Angry Robot). Special Citation went to Archangel by Marguerite Reed (Arche). The award is presented annually to a distinguished work of science fiction originally published in paperback form in the United States. The winner and special citation were announced on Friday, March […]

2015 Aurealis Awards Winners

The 2015 Aurealis Awards winners, recognizing the best in Australian speculative fiction, have been announced. BEST SCIENCE FICTION NOVEL Illuminae, Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (Allen & Unwin) Crossed, Evelyn Blackwell (self-published) Clade, James Bradley (Penguin) Their Fractured Light, Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner (Allen & Unwin) Renegade, Joel Shepherd (self-published) Twinmaker: Fall, Sean Williams (Allen […]

PublishAmerica and Writer Beware Settle

Victoria Strauss of Writer Beware announced on her blog that a settlement has been reached between PublishAmerica/America Star Books (PA/ASB) and Writer Beware. The suit filed on March 18, 2014 by PA/ASB alleged defamation and conspiracy by Writer Beware “to disparage PA and ASB,” and sought $800,000 in damages. According to Strauss, the settlement was […]

2016 Baen Memorial Contest Winner

Baen Books has announced the winners of the 2016 Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award: Grand Prize: “Dear Ammi”, Aimee Ogden 2nd Place: “To Lose the Stars”, Jennifer Brozek 3rd Place: “Cylinders”, Ronald D. Ferguson Other finalists include: J. Lily Corbie C. Stuart Hardwick Bart Kemper Steve Last Thomas A. Mays Al Onia Eric Picholle […]

2016 Sir Julius Vogel Award Nominees

Finalists for the 2016 Sir Julius Vogel Award have been announced by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ). Winners will be selected by members of SFFANZ and of the AuContraire 2016 convention. Best Novel Mariah’s Dream, Grace Bridges (Splashdown) Ardus, Jean Gilbert (Rogue House) Sun Touched, J.C. Hart (Etherhart) Vestiges of […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.