The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for May, 2016

2016 DUFF Winner

Clare McDonald-Sims has won the Down Under Fan Fund (DUFF), a travel grant funded by and for fans, and will attend MidAmeriCon II in Kansas City, the 74th Worldcon. For more information, see SF Site and The Down Under Fan Fund website.

Eugie Foster Memorial Award for Short Fiction

The first annual Eugie Foster Memorial Award for Short Fiction (the Eugie Award) will be presented at Dragon Con, to be held September 2-5, 2016. in Atlanta GA. The award celebrates “the best in innovative fiction” and honors writer and editor Eugie Foster, who died in 2014. Speculative short stories published in 2015 are eligible for […]

Tomorrow Winner and Roswell Shortlist

“Rock Star” by Matilda Berke (Polytechnic School) has won the 2016 Tomorrow Prize for Short Fiction, Sci-Fest L.A.’s award for best SF story written by a Los Angeles high school student. Berke received a $1,000 scholarship at a ceremony held  May 14, 2016. Sci-Fest L.A.’s Roswell Award short story writing contest finalists have also been […]

2016 SFWA Election Results

On May 14, 2016 the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America announced the following election results at their business meeting: Vice President: M.C.A. Hogarth, re-elected, unopposed CFO: Bud Sparhawk, re-elected, unopposed Director at Large: Justina Ireland Director at Large: Lawrence M. Schoen Elections are for two-year term positions. A vote to admit game writers into […]

2016 Edge Hill Short Story Prize Shortlist

The shortlist for the 2016 Edge Hill Short Story Prize has been announced. Nominees of genre interest include: Three Moments of an Explosion, China Miéville (Del Rey) Don’t Try This at Home, Angela Readman (And Other Stories) Your Father Sends His Love, Stuart Evers (Norton) The prize is awarded annually “for excellence in a published […]

Wilde Wins 2016 Compton Crook Award

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society (BSFS) has announced the winner for the 2016 Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award: Updraft, Fran Wilde (Tor) 5 to 1, Holly Bodger (Knopf) Owl and the Japanese Circus, Kristi Charish (Gallery Canada) I Will Love You Forever, Brian Groover (Taproot) The Gracekeepers, Kirsty Logan (Crown) The Thorn of Dentonhill, Marshall Ryan Maresca […]

2016 Audie Awards Winners

The Audio Publishers Association has announced the 2016 Audie Awards winners, recognizing excellence in audiobooks and spoken word entertainment. Winners of genre interest include: Audio Drama Rudyard Kipling’s The Jungle Book: The Mowgli Stories, Rudyard Kipling, read by Bill Bailey, Richard E. Grant, Colin Salmon, Tim McInnerny, Bernard Cribbins, Celia Imrie & Martin Shaw (Audible […]

2015 Analog AnLab and Asimov’s Readers’ Awards

The 2015 Analog AnLab Awards and the Asimov’s Readers’ Awards were presented at a breakfast celebration on May 14, 2016 at the Lockwood Restaurant during the SFWA Nebula Conference in Chicago IL. The Analog Analytical Laboratory (AnLab) Awards winners are: Best Novella “Builders of Leaf Houses”, Catherine Wells (12/15) Best Novelette “Racing to Mars”, Martin L. […]

Hugo Awards Voting Open

Voting for the 2016 Hugo Awards and the 1941 Retro Hugo Awards is now open. Votes for both awards can be cast online at or by paper ballot. A Hugo finalist packet will be available online by May 23, 2016, with the Retro finalist packet available soon after. Voting for both ballots will close July […]

2015 Bram Stoker Awards

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) announced the winners of the 2015 Bram Stoker Awards. The winners are… Superior Achievement in a Novel A Head Full of Ghosts, Paul Tremblay (Morrow) The Scarlet Gospels, Clive Barker (St. Martin’s) The Deep, Michaelbrent Collings (self-published) The Cure, JG Faherty (Samhain) Black Tide, Patrick Freivald (JournalStone) Superior Achievement in a […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.