The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for June, 2016

Sawyer Receives Canadian Honor

Robert J. Sawyer has been appointed to the Order of Canada, one of that country’s highest civilian honors, in recognition of a lifetime of outstanding achievement, dedication to the community, and service to the nation. Sawyer was invested as a Member of the Order “for his accomplishments as a science-fiction writer and mentor and for […]

2016 Locus Awards Winners

The Locus Science Fiction Foundation announced the winners of the 2016 Locus Awards on Saturday, June 25, 2016 during the Locus Awards Weekend in Seattle WA. Science Fiction Novel Ancillary Mercy, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK) The Water Knife, Paolo Bacigalupi (Borzoi; Orbit UK) Aurora, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit US; Orbit UK) Seveneves, Neal […]

2016 Eugie Award Finalists

Finalists for the inaugural Eugie Foster Memorial Award for Short Fiction (the Eugie Award), which “honors stories that are irreplaceable, that inspire, enlighten, and entertain,” have been announced: “Three Cups of Grief, by Starlight”, Aliette De Bodard (Clarkesworld 1/15) “The Deepwater Bride”, Tamsyn Muir (F&SF 7-8/15) “The Long Goodnight of Violet Wild”, Catherynne M. Valente […]

2016 Rhysling Award Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association (SFPA) has announced the winners of the annual Rhysling Awards for SF, fantasy, and horror poetry in short and long form categories. This year’s winners are: SHORT POEM: First Place “Time Travel Vocabulary Problems”, Ruth Berman (Dreams and Nightmares 100) Second Place “Tech Support for the Apocalypse”, F. J. Bergmann […]

2016 Sir Julius Vogel Award Winners

The winners of the 2016 Sir Julius Vogel Award have been announced by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ). Winners were selected by members of SFFANZ and of the AuContraire 2016 convention. Best Novel Ardus, Jean Gilbert (Rogue House) Mariah’s Dream, Grace Bridges (Splashdown) Sun Touched, J.C. Hart (Etherhart) Vestiges of […]

Change to 1941 Retro Hugo Award Ballot

MidAmericon II announced a correction to the 1941 Retro Hugo Award finalists on June 19, 2016. Administrator Dave McCarty explains: The finalist “Darker Than You Think” by Jack Williamson was mistakenly categorized as a novelette.  The story is a novella, but did not receive enough nominations to be a finalist as a novella.  It has […]

2016 Wellman Award Nominees

The North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation has announced the shortlist for the 2016 Manly Wade Wellman Award. The award recognizes “outstanding achievement in science fiction and fantasy novels written by North Carolina authors.” Raising Hell, John G. Hartness (Falstaff) The Mussorgsky Riddle, Darin Kennedy (Curiosity Quills) Vendetta, Gail Z. Martin (Solaris) War of Shadows, Gail […]

Riddell Wins Greenaway Medal

Artist Chris Riddell won the Kate Greenaway Medal for outstanding illustration for his work on The Sleeper and the Spindle, Neil Gaiman’s (Bloomsbury). The awards were announced in a ceremony June 20, 2016 at the British Library in London. Riddell is the first reigning Children’s Laureate to win the Greenaway award, and the first ever […]

Atwood Wins PEN Pinter Prize

Margaret Atwood has won the 2016 PEN Pinter prize, as announced June 16, 2016 by English PEN. The prize is awarded annually to a writer of outstanding literary merit who, in the words of Harold Pinter’s Nobel Prize in Literature speech, casts an ‘unflinching, unswerving’ gaze upon the world and shows a ‘fierce intellectual determination […]

2016 Campbell Memorial Award Finalists

Finalists for the 2016 John W. Campbell Memorial Award: The Water Knife, Paolo Bacigalupi (Orbit/Knopf) Europe at Midnight, Dave Hutchinson (Rebellion) Radiomen, Eleanor Lerman (The Permanent) Luna: New Moon, Ian McDonald (Gollancz/Tor) Galapagos Regained, James Morrow (St. Martin’s) Going Dark, Linda Nagata (Mythic Island/Saga) The Book of Phoenix, Nnedi Okorafor (DAW) Where, Kit Reed (Tor) […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.