The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for July, 2016

Hugo Awards Voting Deadline This Weekend

The 2016 Hugo Awards voting closes Sunday, July 31, 2016, 11:59 PM PDT (Monday, August 1, 2016, 2:59 AM EDT; 7:59 AM BST; 4:59 PM AEST). You need to be a member of MidAmeriCon II to be eligible to vote. More information about voting can be found at the MidAmeriCon II site.

Gill Named Executive Editor at Tor/Forge

Diana Gill has joined Tor/Forge as executive editor. Gill managed Harper Voyager US for twelve years before moving to the Berkley Publishing Group in 2014. President and publisher Tom Doherty announced hiring Gill along with several staff promotions and hires on July 28, 2016. For Tor, Liz Gorinsky and Miriam Weinberg have both been promoted […]

Hartness Wins Wellman Award

The North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation has announced the winner of the 2016 Manly Wade Wellman Award. Raising Hell, John G. Hartness (Falstaff) The Mussorgsky Riddle, Darin Kennedy (Curiosity Quills) Vendetta, Gail Z. Martin (Solaris) War of Shadows, Gail Z. Martin (Orbit) Iron and Blood, Gail Z. Martin & Larry N. Martin (Solaris) Castle Hangnail, […]

Changes at Tor

Leading SF publisher Tor Books has announced significant changes to the publishing team. Longtime executive editor Patrick Nielsen Hayden has been named associate publisher, effective immediately. He will be joined by a new hire, associate publisher Devi Pillai, formerly editorial director at Orbit. Tor publisher Tom Doherty says, “I’ve watched Devi’s work with admiration for a […]

2016 Scribe Awards Winners

The International Association of Media Tie-in Writers announced the winners of the 2016 Scribe Awards July 22, 2016 at Comic-Con International, at the San Diego Convention Center in San Diego CA. The Scribe Awards honor excellence in licensed tie-in writing. Recipients of genre interest follow. Best Original Novel — Speculative Star Trek: The Next Generation: Armageddon’s Arrow, Dayton […]

Powers Wins Munsey Award

Editor and publisher Laurie Powers is the winner of the 2016 Munsey Award, presented annually by PulpFest “to a person who has worked for the betterment of the pulp community.” Nominees are selected by the general pulp community, and the winner is selected by a vote of past Lamont, Munsey, and Rusty Awards winners. Powers […]

2016 RITA and Golden Heart Awards Winners

The RITA and Golden Heart Awards were presented by the Romance Writers of America at their annual convention in San Diego CA on July 16, 2016. The RITA is presented for best novel, and the Golden Heart is a contest for the best novel by an unpublished novelist. Winners of genre interest include: RITA for […]

SFWA Opens to Game Writers

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) will be open to active membership applications from game writers, beginning August 1, 2016. The decision was made by a membership-wide vote. “Games in any medium may be used for qualification so long as the game has a narrative element, is in English, and in the science fiction, […]

Stephen King Honored by Library of Congress

The Library of Congress announced on July 12, 2016 that they will be honoring Stephen King for his lifetime of work promoting literacy. King will be opening the main stage of the 2016 Library of Congress National Book Festival, where he will give a free presentation and be recognized by the Library. The National Book Festival takes […]

2016 Prometheus Award Winners

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the winner of the 2016 Prometheus Award for Best Novel, honoring works published in 2015 that “examine the meaning of freedom.” Best Novel Seveneves, Neal Stephenson (Morrow) Golden Son, Pierce Brown (Del Rey) Apex, Ramez Naam (Angry Robot) The Just City, Jo Walton (Tor) A Borrowed Man, Gene Wolfe (Tor) […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.