The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2015 Shirley Jackson Awards Winners

The 2015 Shirley Jackson Awards were presented on July 10, 2016 at Readercon 27, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Quincy MA. Readercon guests of honor Catherynne M. Valente and Tim Powers hosted the ceremony.

The winners for the 2015 Shirley Jackson Awards are:




  • “Even Clean Hands Can Do Damage”, Steve Duffy (Supernatural Tales #30, Autumn)
  • “The Thyme Fiend”, Jeffrey Ford ( 3/15)
  • “The Briskwater Mare”, Deborah Kalin (Cherry Crow Children)
  • “The Deepwater Bride”, Tamsyn Muir (F&SF 7-8/15)
  • “Fabulous Beasts”, Priya Sharma ( 7/15)

Short Fiction

  • “Seven Minutes in Heaven”, Nadia Bulkin (Aickman’s Heirs)
  • “A Beautiful Memory”, Shannon Peavey (Apex 3/15)
  • “Wilderness”, Letitia Trent (Exigencies)
  • “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers”, Alyssa Wong (Nightmare 10/15)

Single-Author Collection

Edited Anthology

In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, The Shirley Jackson Awards, Inc. was established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic. The awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors. The 2015 jurors were Livia Llewellyn, Robert Shearman, Simon Kurt Unsworth, Bev Vincent, and Kaaron Warren. The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year.


© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.