The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2016 Prometheus Award Winners

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the winner of the 2016 Prometheus Award for Best Novel, honoring works published in 2015 that “examine the meaning of freedom.”

Best Novel

They also announced the winner of the Hall of Fame Award, “given in recognition of a classic work of science fiction or fantasy with libertarian themes.”

Hall of Fame

  • Courtship Rite, Donald M. Kingsbury (Timescape, 1982)
  • Manna, Lee Correy (DAW, 1984)
  • “As Easy as A.B.C.”, Rudyard Kipling (1912)
  • The Island Worlds, Eric Kotani & John Maddox Roberts (Baen, 1987)
  • A Mirror for Observers, Edgar Pangborn (Doubleday, 1954)

As previously announced, a Special Award will be given to Alex + Ada, by Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn (Image Comics).

The awards will be presented in a ceremony during MidAmeriCon II, the 74th Worldcon, to be held August 17-21, 2016 at the Kansas City Convention Center in Kansas City MO.

For more information, visit the Libertarian Futurist Society website.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.