The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

1941 Retro Hugo Awards Winners

Winners of the 1941 Retro Hugo Awards, honoring work from 1940, were announced August 18, 2016 at a ceremony at MidAmericon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, held at the Kansas City Convention Center in Kansas City MO, August 17-21, 2016.

The Retro Hugos are awarded 50, 75, or 100 years after a Worldcon in which the Hugos were not previously awarded.

Best Novel (352 nominating ballots)

  • Slan, A.E. Van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction 12/40)
  • Kallocain, Karin Boye (Bonnier)
  • Gray Lensman, E.E. ‘‘Doc’’ Smith (Astounding Science-Fiction 1/40)
  • The IllMade Knight, T.H. White (Collins)
  • The Reign of Wizardry, Jack Williamson (Unknown 3/40)

Best Novella (318)

  • “If This Goes On…”, Robert A. Heinlein (Astounding Science-Fiction 2/40)
  • “The Mathematics of Magic”, L. Sprague de Camp & Fletcher Pratt (Unknown 8/40)
  • “The Roaring Trumpet”, L. Sprague de Camp & Fletcher Pratt (Unknown 5/40)
  • “Coventry”, Robert A. Heinlein (Astounding Science-Fiction 7/40)
  • “Magic, Inc.”, Robert A. Heinlein (Unknown 9/40)

 Best Novelette (310)

  • “The Roads Must Roll”, Robert A. Heinlein (Astounding Science-Fiction 6/40)
  • “Farewell to the Master”, Harry Bates (Astounding Science-Fiction 10/40)
  • “Blowups Happen”, Robert A. Heinlein (Astounding Science-Fiction 9/40)
  • “It!”, Theodore Sturgeon (Unknown 8/40)
  • “Vault of the Beast”, A.E. Van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction 8/40)**
  • “Darker Than You Think”, Jack Williamson (Unknown 12/40)

 Best Short Story (324)

  • “Robbie”, Isaac Asimov (Super Science Stories 9/40 as “Strange Playfellow”)
  • “Tlön, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius”, Jorge Luis Borges (Sur 1940)
  • “Martian Quest”, Leigh Brackett (Astounding Science-Fiction 2/40)
  • “The Stellar Legion”, Leigh Brackett (Planet Stories Winter 1940)
  • “Requiem”, Robert A. Heinlein (Astounding Science-Fiction 1/40)

 Best Dramatic Presentation – Short (123)

  • Pinocchio
  • The Adventures of Superman: “The Baby from Krypton”
  • The Invisible Man Returns
  • Looney Tunes: “You Ought to Be in Pictures”
  • Merrie Melodies: “A Wild Hare”

Best Dramatic Presentation – Long (250)

  • Fantasia
  • Dr. Cyclops
  • Flash Gordon Conquers the Universe
  • One Million B.C.
  • The Thief of Bagdad

Best Graphic Story (92)

  • Batman #1 (Detective Comics, Spring 1940)
  • “The Origin of the Spirit”, Will Eisner (Register and Tribune Syndicate 6/40)
  • Captain Marvel: “Introducing Captain Marvel”, Bill Parker & C.C. Beck (Whiz Comics #2, 2/40)
  • Flash Gordon: “The Ice Kingdom of Mongo”, Alex Raymond & Don Moore (King Features Syndicate, 4/40)
  • The Spectre: “The Spectre”/”The Spectre Strikes!”, Jerry Siegel & Bernard Baily (More Fun Comics #52/53, 3/40, 4/40)

Best Professional Editor Short Form (183)

  • John W. Campbell
  • Dorothy McIlwraith
  • Raymond A. Palmer
  • Frederik Pohl
  • Mort Weisinger

 Best Professional Artist (86)*

  • Virgil Finlay
  • Hannes Bok
  • Margaret Brundage
  • Edd Cartier
  • Frank R. Paul
  • Hubert Rogers

 Best Fanzine (63)

  • Futuria Fantasia
  • Le Zombie
  • Novacious
  • Spaceways
  • Voice of the Imagi-Nation

Best Fan Writer (70)

  • Ray Bradbury
  • Forrest J Ackerman
  • H.P. Lovecraft
  • Arthur Wilson “Bob” Tucker
  • Harry Warner

*The Best Professional Artist category has six finalists due to a tie for fifth place.

**Added to ballot June 19, 2016. MidAmericon II announced a correction to the 1941 Retro Hugo Award finalists on June 19, 2016.

There were 481 nominating ballots received from members of Sasquan, MidAmericonII, and Worldcon 75.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.