The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2016 Hugo and Campbell Awards Winners

Winners for the Hugo Awards and for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer were announced August 20, 2016 at MidAmericon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, held at the Kansas City Convention Center in Kansas City MO, August 17-21, 2016.

Best Novel (3,695 nominating ballots)

 Best Novella (2,416)

  • Binti, Nnedi Okorafor (

Best Novelette (1,975)

  • “Folding Beijing”, Hao Jingfang (Uncanny 1-2/15)

 Best Short Story (2451)

  • “Cat Pictures Please”, Naomi Kritzer (Clarkesworld, 1/15)

 Best Dramatic Presentation – Long (2,904)

  • The Martian
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron
  • Ex Machina
  • Mad Max: Fury Road
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens

 Best Dramatic Presentation – Short (2,219)

  • Jessica Jones: “AKA Smile”
  • Doctor Who: “Heaven Sent”
  • Grimm: “Headache”
  • My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic: “The Cutie Map: Parts 1 and 2”
  • Supernatural: “Just My Imagination”

 Best Related Work (2,080)


 Best Graphic Story (1,838)

  • Invisible Republic: Vol 1, Corinna Bechko & Gabriel Hardman; art by Gabriel Hardman (Image)
  • Erin Dies Alone, Grey Carter; art by Cory Rydell (
  • The Divine, Boaz Lavie; art by Asaf Hanuka & Tomer Hanuka (First Second)
  • Full Frontal Nerdity, Aaron Williams (

 Best Professional Editor Long Form (1,764)

  • Sheila E. Gilbert
  • Vox Day
  • Liz Gorinsky
  • Jim Minz
  • Toni Weisskopf

Best Professional Editor Short Form (1,891)

  • Ellen Datlow
  • John Joseph Adams
  • Neil Clarke
  • Jerry Pournelle
  • Sheila Williams

 Best Professional Artist (1,481)

  • Abigail Larson
  • Lars Braad Andersen
  • Larry Elmore
  • Michal Karcz
  • Larry Rostant

Best Semiprozine (1,457)

  • Uncanny
  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Daily Science Fiction
  • Sci Phi Journal
  • Strange Horizons

Best Fanzine (1,455)

  • File 770
  • Black Gate
  • Castalia House Blog
  • Lady Business**
  • Superversive SF
  • Tangent Online

Best Fancast (1,267)

  • No Award
  • 8‐4 Play
  • Cane and Rinse
  • HelloGreedo
  • The Rageaholic
  • Tales to Terrify

Best Fan Writer (1,568)

  • Mike Glyer
  • Douglas Ernst
  • Morgan Holmes
  • Jeffro Johnson
  • Shamus Young

Best Fan Artist (1,073)

  • Steve Stiles
  • Matthew Callahan
  • disse86
  • Kukuruyo
  • Christian Quinot

 John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer [Not a Hugo Award] (1,922)

  • Andy Weir
  • *Pierce Brown
  • *Sebastien de Castell
  • Brian Niemeier
  • *Alyssa Wong

*Finalists in their 2nd year of eligibility.

**Added to ballot May 6, 2016.

The original ballot was revised May 6, 2016 when nominees Thomas A. Mays (short story) and Black Gate (fanzine) withdrew themselves from consideration. They were replaced by “Cat Pictures Please”, Naomi Kritzer (Clarkesworld, 1/15) and Lady Business, respectively.

There were 4,032 nominating ballots received from members of Sasquan, MidAmeriCon II, and Worldcon 75.

Several awards for services to SF fandom were also presented.

First Fandom Hall of Fame Award

  • Ben Bova
  • Joseph Wrzos

First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame Awards

  • Olon F. Wiggins
  • Lew Martin
  • Roy V. Hunt

Sam Moskowitz Archive Award

  • Stephen D. Korshak
  • Ned Brooks

Forrest J Ackerman Big Heart Award

  • Edie Stern
  • Joe Siclari

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.