The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for September, 2016

Hugo Awards Special Category: Best Series

Worldcon in Helsinki, the 75th World Science Fiction Convention, will include a special trial Hugo Award category for Best Series: Fans voted in August 2016 to trial a new Hugo award for “Best Series”, which could be added in 2018. Each Worldcon Committee has the authority to introduce a special category Hugo award, and Worldcon 75 has […]

Kurniawan Wins 2016 Emerging Voices Award

Winners of the second annual FT/OppenheimerFunds Emerging Voices award for best novel have been announced: Man Tiger, Eka Kurniawan (Verso) The Seventh Day, Yua Hua (Pantheon) The Four Books, Yan Lianke (Chatto & Windus) All three top entrants were of genre interest. Indonesian writer Eka Kurniawan won in the fiction category for his second novel, […]

Robert E. Weinberg (1946-2016)

Author, editor, publisher, and fan Robert E. Weinberg, 70, died September 25, 2016 in Oak Forest IL. Weinberg was an expert on pulp magazines, and devoted much of his life to promoting and reprinting material from the pulps. He was also a prolific anthologist, editing or co-editing more than 100 volumes. Robert Edward Weinberg was born […]

2016 Dwarf Stars and Elgin Awards Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has announced the 2016 Dwarf Stars and Elgin Awards winners. The Dwarf Stars Award is given by the SFPA to recognize the best speculative poem of one to ten lines, published in the previous year. Winners will have their work reprinted in the 2016 Dwarf Stars Anthology. First Place: “We […]

2016 Gemmell Awards Winners

The 2016 David Gemmell Awards winners have been announced: The Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel The Liar’s Key, Mark Lawrence (Harper Voyager) The Dread Wyrm, Miles Cameron (Gollancz) Son of the Black Sword, Larry Correia (Baen) Gotrek & Felix: Slayer, David Guymer (Black Library) Ruin, John Gwynne (Pan Macmillan) The Morningstar Award for Best […]

2016 British Fantasy Awards Winners

The British Fantasy Society announced the British Fantasy Awards Winners on September 25, 2016 during an awards ceremony at FantasyCon 2016 at the Grand and Royal Hotels in Scarborough, England. The winners are: Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award) Uprooted, Naomi Novik (Macmillan) Half a War, Joe Abercrombie (Harper Voyager) Sorcerer to the Crown, Zen Cho […]

Kensington Launches SF Imprint

Kensington is launching a new digital SF imprint, Rebel Base Books, in fall 2017, starting with Barb Hendee’s Through a Dark Glass. They will focus on space travel and traditional “soft” SF thrillers, alternate worlds and histories, and classic epic fantasy. All Kensington’s editors will be acquiring for the new imprint, and they are actively seeking submissions. For more […]

W.P. Kinsella (1935-2016)

Author W.P. Kinsella, 81, died September 16, 2016 in Hope, British Columbia, Canada, reportedly of assisted suicide. Kinsella is best known for his debut novel, baseball fantasy Shoeless Joe (1982), adapted as film Field of Dreams (1989). Other works of genre interest include The Iowa Baseball Confederacy (1986), If Wishes Were Horses (1996), and Butterfly […]

David A. Kyle (1919-2016)

Author, illustrator, and fan David A. Kyle, 97, died September 18, 2016 of complications from an endoscopy. Kyle was a member of First Fandom, active in SF since 1933, and a founding member of the Futurians. He chaired NYCon II, the 14th Worldcon in 1956, and was fan guest of honor ConStellation, the 41st Worldcon, […]

New Imprint: Rick Riordan Presents

Disney-Hyperion has announced the launch of a new imprint, Rick Riordan Presents, devoted to “mythology-based books for middle grade readers.” The imprint’s mission is to “find, nurture, and promote the best storytellers for middle grade readers,” with a focus on new and under-represented authors. Stephanie Owens Lurie, Riordan’s editor, will be the imprint’s editorial director, with […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.