The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for October, 2016

2016 World Fantasy Awards Winners

The World Fantasy Awards winners for works published in 2015 were announced during the World Fantasy Convention, held October 27-30, 2016 at the Hyatt Regency in Columbus OH. The Lifetime Achievement Awards, presented annually to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service to the fantasy field, will go to David G. Hartwell and Andrzej Sapkowski. The World Fantasy Awards winners are: Novels The […]

2016 Prix Utopiales Finalists

The Nantes International Science Fiction Festival, known as the Utopiales Festival, has announced the finalists for three of its awards. The finalists for the 2016 Prix Utopiales Européen (Utopiales European Awards) are: Sous la colline, David Calvo (Éditions La Volte) La fenêtre de Diane, Dominique Douay (Les Moutons Électriques), Dmitry Glukhovsky, translated by Denis […]

Stephen E. King Chair in Literature

The University of Maine in Orono has endowed the Stephen E. King Chair in Literature to honor horror author Stephen King, who graduated from the university in 1970. The professorship will “support a faculty position in the Department of English in honor of King’s ‘substantial body of work and creative impact’” and is partially funded by […]

Sheri S. Tepper (1929-2016)

Author Sheri S. Tepper, 87, died October 22, 2016. Tepper was a prolific author of SF, best known for her feminist and ecological themes, with major titles including The Gate to Women’s Country (1988) and Grass (1989). She was born Shirley Stewart Douglas on July 16, 1929 near Littleton CO. She married for the first time at […]

2016 Geffen Awards Winners

The 2016 Geffen Awards winners have been announced. The awards are presented by the Israeli Society for Science Fiction and Fantasy. Best Translated Science Fiction Book Redshirts, John Scalzi, translated by Zafrir Grossman (Opus) Best Translated Fantasy Book Fool’s Assassin, Robin Hobb, translated by Zafrir Grossman (Opus) Best Translated YA Book The Blood of Olympus, Rick Riordan, […]

Ed Gorman (1941-2016)

Author and editor Ed Gorman, 74, died October 14, 2016. He was diagnosed with incurable cancer in 2002. Gorman was best known as a crime and horror writer and anthologist, and also wrote SF. He published dozens of books, beginning with novel Rough Cut (1984). Most of his works of genre interest were published pseudonymously. […]

2016 Imadjinn Award Winners

The winners of the inaugural Imadjinn Awards were announced at an awards banquet on October 8, 2016 during the Imaginarium Convention held October 7-9, 2016 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Louisville KY. The award trophies are given to small press and independently published authors selected by jury. Winners of genre interest follow. Best Anthology […]

Prime Minister’s Literary Awards Shortlists

The Prime Minister and Arts Minister of Australia announced the shortlists for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards on October 17, 2016. The awards “celebrate outstanding literary talent in Australia and the valuable contribution Australian literature and history makes to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life.” Each award category is allocated a A$100,000 prize pool, with […]

2017 Baen Memorial Contest Opens

Baen Books has opened the 2017 Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award contest. Co-sponsored by the National Space Society, the contest focuses on stories of near-future space exploration. The deadline for submissions is February 1, 2017. The grand prize includes publication on the Baen website at professional rates, an engraved award, an assortment of Baen […]

Tremblay Wins Massachusetts Book Award

The Massachusetts Center for the Book announced the winners of its Massachusetts Book Awards on October 5, 2016. The awards “recognize significant works of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and children’s/young adult literature published by Commonwealth residents or about Massachusetts subjects.” A Head Full of Ghosts, by Paul Tremblay won the Fiction Award, chosen by a panel […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.