The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for December, 2016

Richard Adams (1920-2016)

Author Richard Adams, 96, died December 24, 2016. Adams is best known for his classic animal fantasy Watership Down (1972), about the secret (and magical) lives of rabbits. His other titles of genre interest include Shardik (1975), The Plague Dogs (1978), and collection Tales from Watership Down (1996). Richard George Adams was born May 9, […]

Masters Review Fall Fiction Contest Shortlist

The Masters Review announced the shortlist for their Fall Fiction contest on December 21, 2016. “Egg-Laying Queen”, Kristen Arnett “The Giant of Luna Park”, Jonathan Baker “Such Friends”, Leslee Becker “Scut”, Danielle Lea Buchanon “Shrödinger’s Insurgents”, Shane Collins “Mannequins”, Jen Fawkes “Athena Dreams of a Hollow Body”, JR Fenn “Good Creatures, Small Things”, Cate Fricke […]

2016 Jane Yolen Mid-List Author Award

Author Jan Peck is the 2016 recipient of the Jane Yolen Mid-List Author Award. The $3,000 annual grant, created and funded by Jane Yolen, honors mid-list authors “and aims to help raise awareness about their current works-in-progress.” Deborah Trotter and Joan Donaldson were chosen as Honor winners. Jane Yolen said, “We are at the whim of trends, […]

Pagan Promoted at Pan Macmillan

Tor UK and Pan Macmillan’s senior commissioning editor Bella Pagan was recently promoted to editorial director at Pan Macmillan Fiction. Pagan joined Pan Macmillan in 2011, coming over from Orbit where she had been commissioning editor for five years. Wayne Brookes, associate publisher for fiction at Pan Macmillan, said: “Since her arrival at Pan Macmillan Bella […]

SFWA Changes to Game Writing Qualifications

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America board has voted to change the qualifications for game writing applications and memberships. The original qualifications were created by the Game Writing Committee, and have been amended to reflect concerns “about the exclusion of salaried writers, the limit on number of collaborators, since collaboration in games is […]

2016 NEA Fellowships Announced

Several authors of genre interest are recipients of 2016 Literature Fellowships awarded by The National Endowment for the Arts. Diane Cook, Lucy Corin, and Aaron Their are among the writers who received grants of $25,000 each. The grants are meant to give “writers the time and space to create, revise, conduct research, and connect with […]

VanderMeer Creative Funds Octavia Project

VanderMeer Creative announced on December 6, 2016 that they will be funding The Octavia Project for 2016-2017 The Octavia Project is a free program for Brooklyn girls ages 12-17, that “uses girls’ passion in science fiction, fantasy, fan-fiction, and gaming to teach them skills in science, technology, art, and writing, equipping them with skills to […]

2016 Goodreads Choice Awards

Winners of the 2016 Goodreads Choice awards for the “best books of 2016,” as chosen by users of the site, were announced December 6, 2016. There are several winners of genre interest. Best Mystery & Thriller End of Watch, Stephen King (Scribner) 42,382 votes Best Historical Fiction The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead (Doubleday) 24,175 votes […]

2016 Tiptree Fellowship Winners

Mia Sereno and Porpentine Charity Heartscape are the 2016 recipients of the Tiptree Fellowship. Each winner will receive a $500 grant, and work produced as a result of this support will be recognized and promoted by the Tiptree Award. The fellowship is designed for individuals “doing work that is changing the way we think about […]

Jenssen Wins Rotsler

Martin James Ditmar (“Dick”) Jenssen is the winner of the 2016 Rotsler Award for “long-time wonder-working with graphic art in amateur publications of the science fiction community.” The award was announced during Loscon 43 in Los Angeles CA, November 25-27, 2016. The award is sponsored by the Southern California Institute for Fan Interests, and includes an […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.