The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2016 winners

2015 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for January, 2017

Larry Smith (1946-2017)

Book dealer and conrunner Larry Smith, 70, died January 20, 2017. Laurence C. Smith was born in 1946 and lived in Columbus OH. He co-chaired the Columbus in 1976 Worldcon bid, chaired Marcon for ten years, served as vice-chair of Chicon IV in 1982, and co-chaired the 2010 World Fantasy Convention. He acquired Dick Spelman’s […]

2017 Philip K. Dick Award Nominees

The 2017 Philip K. Dick Award nominees have been announced: Consider, Kristy Acevedo (Jolly Fish) Hwarhath Stories: Transgressive Tales by Aliens, Eleanor Arnason (Aqueduct) The Mercy Journals, Claudia Casper (Arsenal Pulp) Unpronounceable, Susan diRende (Aqueduct) Graft, Matt Hill (Angry Robot) Super Extra Grande, Yoss (Restless) The award is presented annually to a distinguished work of […]

2017 Edgar Awards Nominations

Several authors and works of genre interest are on the 2017 Edgar Awards shortlist, including Peter Ackroyd, Ally Condie, Shirley Jackson, Stephen King, Joyce Carol Oates, and Bram Stoker, among others. Max Allan Collins has been named a Grand Master. The Edgar Allan Poe Awards, “honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television,” will be […]

Fantastic Stories of the Imagination to Close

Publisher Warren Lapine announced on January 18, 2017 that Fantastic Stories of the Imagination will be closing after its January regular issue and its “People of Color Take Over” special issue. Lapine cited financial concerns and personal circumstances as contributing factors to his decision. He also said that remaining subscriptions will be fulfilled with electronic […]

Survey to Help Name the Worldcon YA Award

The World Science Fiction Society is asking fans to help name the new Worldcon YA Award “The <blank> Award for Best Young Adult Book,” from a shortlist of six potential names. The names were chosen from 460 different suggestions and 1,138 responses to their initial survey. Anansi Lodestar Ouroboros Spellcaster Tesseract Worldcon The survey will be open […] Shutting Down

Jeffry Dwight and Steve Ratzlaff have announced that they will be shutting down on March 31, 2017 due to costs issues. The site has been up since 1996 and provides server space, e-mail addresses, and author pages for many in the science fiction community. For more information about the transition, see

2016 SF&F Hall of Fame Inductees

The Museum of Pop Culture (MoPOP) announced the 2016 inductees to the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame. Eligibility has been expanded “to recognize the genre’s most impactful creations,” and the 2016 inductees are authors Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams, along with Star Trek  and Blade Runner. In honor of the museum’s 20th anniversary, 20 additional […]

Bradbury Inducted Into California Library Hall of Fame

The Californial Library Association (CLA) inducted Ray Bradbury into the California Library Hall of Fame. The award honors “the historical significance and lifetime achievements of the many librarians, library workers and supporters who have helped promote and improve library services in California.” Bradbury’s feature on the CLA website recognizes his lifelong advocacy for California libraries. […]

2017 Prometheus Hall of Fame Award Finalists

The Libertarian Futurist Society has named the finalists for the Prometheus Hall of Fame Award, “given in recognition of a classic work of science fiction or fantasy with libertarian themes”: “Starfog”, Poul Anderson (Analog 8/67) “Coventry”, Robert Heinlein (Astounding 7/40) “As Easy as A.B.C.”, Rudyard Kipling (London 3-4/1912) “Conquest by Default”, Vernor Vinge (Analog 5/68) […]

Robert Scholes (1929-2016)

Literary critic Robert Scholes, 87, died December 9, 2016 in Rhode Island. He wrote numerous works of literary theory, including several of SF interest: The Fabulators (1967), Structural Fabulation: An Essay on Fiction of the Future (1975), Science Fiction: History — Science — Vision (1977, with Eric S. Rabkin), and Fabulation and Metafiction (1979). He […]

© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.