The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2016 winners

2015 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for February, 2017

Díaz and Le Guin Named to the American Academy of Arts and Letters

Junot Díaz and Ursula K. Le Guin are among 14 individuals newly named to the American Academy of Arts and Letters, one of the most prestigious honors in the arts. New members are elected only after the death of existing members, with total membership limited to 250 people. New members will be welcomed at an […]

Susan Casper (1947-2017)

Writer Susan Casper died in her sleep on February 24, 2017 after a series of health complications. In announcing her death on Facebook, husband Gardner Dozois said, “She was an extremely tough woman, and fought through an unbelievable amount of stuff in the last couple of years, but this last illness was just too much for […]

2016 Bram Stoker Awards Final Ballot

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) announced the finalists for the 2016 Bram Stoker Awards on February 23, 2017. Superior Achievement in a Novel Hard Light, Elizabeth Hand (Minotaur) Mongrels, Stephen Graham Jones (William Morrow) The Fisherman, John Langan (Word Horde) Stranded, Bracken MacLeod (Tor) Disappearance at Devil’s Rock, Paul Tremblay (William Morrow) Superior Achievement in a First Novel […]

Walton Wins Skylark

Jo Walton is the recipient of the 2017 Edward E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction (AKA the Skylark Award), presented by the New England Science Fiction Association announced at Boskone 54, held at the Westin Boston Waterfront, February 17-19, 2017. The Skylark is given to “some person, who, in the opinion of the membership, has contributed significantly […]

2016 BSFA Shortlist

The shortlist for the 2016 British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) Awards has been announced: Best Novel Daughter of Eden, Chris Beckett (Gollancz) A Closed and Common Orbit, Becky Chambers (Hodder & Stoughton) Europe in Winter, Dave Hutchinson (Solaris) Occupy Me, Tricia Sullivan (Gollancz) Azanian Bridges, Nick Wood (NewCon) Best Short Story “The End of Hope […]

2016 Aurealis Awards Finalists

The 2016 Aurealis Awards finalists, recognizing the best in Australian speculative fiction, have been announced. BEST SCIENCE FICTION NOVEL Watershed, Jane Abbott (Penguin Random House) Confluence, S.K. Dunstall (Ace) Gemima: Illuminae Files 2, Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (Allen & Unwin) Squid’s Grief, DK Mok (self-published) Stiletto, Daniel O’Malley (HarperCollins) Threader, Rebekah Turner (Harlequin Australia) BEST […]

2016 Nebula Awards Ballot Announced

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America have released the final ballot for the 2016 Nebula Awards. Novel All the Birds in the Sky, Charlie Jane Anders (Tor; Titan) Borderline, Mishell Baker (Saga) The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK) Ninefox Gambit, Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris US; Solaris UK) Everfair, Nisi Shawl […]

Salam Award Announced

The inaugural Salam Award for Imaginative Fiction will be given this year to “promote science fiction and related genres of writing in Pakistan.” The award is named after the Pakistani scientist, Dr. Abdus Salam. Entrants must be residents of Pakistan or of Pakistani descent, and entries must be submitted in English. The winning story will […]

2016 Cybils Awards Winners

Winners for the 2016 Children’s and Young Adults Bloggers’ Literary Awards (Cybils) were announced on February 14, 2017. Books of genre interest are listed below: Audiobooks The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, the Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog, Adam Gidwitz (Listening Library) Out of Abaton: The Wooden Prince, John Claude Bemis (Oasis) When the Sea […]

Sawyer Wins 2017 Heinlein Award

Robert J. Sawyer is the winner of the 2017 Robert A. Heinlein Award, given for “outstanding published works in science fiction and technical writings that inspire the human exploration of space,” recognizing his body of work, including 23 novels. The winner was chosen by a committee of SF authors chaired by Michael F. Flynn, and […]

© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.