The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for March, 2017

Dr. Lindgren Named Nebula Awards Toastmaster

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) have announced that Dr. Kjell Lindgren, the astronaut who “flew to the International Space Station on Soyuz TMA-17M in 2015 to serve as part of ISS Expedition 44 and 45,” will be Toastmaster at the 2017 SFWA Nebula Awards Conference to be held May 18-21, 2017, […]

2017 Prometheus Award Finalists

The Libertarian Futurist Society has released the finalists for the Prometheus Award in the Best Novel category, honoring pro-freedom works published in 2016. Best Novel Award The Corporation Wars: Dissidence, Ken MacLeod (Orbit) The Corporation Wars: Insurgence, Ken MacLeod (Orbit) The Mandibles: A Family, 2029-2047, Lionel Shriver (HarperCollins) The Core of the Sun, Johanna Sinisalo […]

2017 Compton Crook Award Finalists

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society (BSFS) has announced the finalists for the 2017 Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award: Ninefox Gambit, Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris) Arabella of Mars, David D. Levine (Tor) Sword and Verse, Kathy MacMillan (HarperTeen) Sleeping Giants, Sylvain Neuvel (Del Rey) Too Like the Lightning, Ada Palmer (Tor) Sleep State Interrupt, T.C. Weber (See Sharp) […]

More 2017 Audie Awards Finalists

The Audio Publishers Association has announced finalists for the 2017 Audie Awards, recognizing excellence in audiobooks and spoken word entertainment. These are in addition to the finalists announced in February. Audie finalists of genre interest include: Audiobook of the Year The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead, read by Bahni Turpin (Penguin Random House) Excellence in Design […]

SFPA Changes Name

The Science Fiction Poetry Association (SFPA) announced on March 21, 2017 that they “will henceforth and forevermore (at least until the next member vote) be known as: The Science Fiction and Fantasy Poetry Association.” The decision was made through a vote of 134 members of the organization, who also elected to retain the original SFPA […]

Australian Shadows Awards Finalists

The shortlists for the 2016 Australian Shadows Awards were announced March 16, 2017. The award is given by the Australian Horror Writers Association (AHWA) and “celebrates the finest in horror and dark fiction published by an Australian or New Zealander.” Best Short Fiction “D Is for Death”, Pete Aldin (C is for Chimera) “Midnight in […]

Fiscus Wins SFWA Award

Jim Fiscus has been awarded the 2017 Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award for “his outstanding work on behalf of the organization.” Fiscus has been involved with the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America since he began volunteering in 1990. The award will be presented during SFWA’s 51st Annual Nebula Conference, May 18-21, […]

2016 This Is Horror Awards Winners

Winners of the This Is Horror Awards 2016 were announced March 20, 2017. Winners were chosen by open vote through the This Is Horror website. Novel of the Year Winner: The Fisherman, John Langan (Word Horde) Runner-up: Mongrels, Stephen Graham Jones (Morrow) Experimental Film, Gemma Files (ChiZine) Stranded, Bracken MacLeod (Tor) Disappearance at Devil’s Rock, […]

2017 Baen Memorial Contest Winner

Baen Books has announced the winner of the 2017 Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award: Grand Prize: “Feldspar”, Philip A. Kramer First runner-up: “Bullet Catch”, Stephen Lawson Second runner-up: “An Economy of Air”, M.T. Reiten Other finalists include: Stewart C. Baker S.B. Divya Susan Forest C. Stuart Hardwick Bart Kemper Harry Lang Angus McIntyre The […]

Bernie Wrightson (1948-2017)

Artist Bernie Wrightson, 68, died March 18, 2017 in Austin TX of brain cancer. Wrightson is best known for his comics, including the creation of DC Comics character Swamp Thing (1971, with writer Len Wein), and for his horror illustrations. Bernard Albert Wrightson was born October 27, 1948 in Dundalk MD. He started work as […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.