The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

McLemore Wins 2016 Tiptree Award

Anna-Marie McLemore’s novel When the Moon Was Ours (Dunne) won the 2016 James Tiptree, Jr. Award, given annually to works of science fiction or fantasy that explore and expand gender roles. McLemore will receive $1,000, original artwork created to honor the novel, and chocolate. McLemore will be honored at a ceremony during WisCon, May 26-29, 2017 in Madison WI.

The Tiptree jury released an “honor list” recognizing other noteworthy works:

The jurors also released a “long list of 12 other works they found worthy of attention.” Jurors were Jeanne Gomoll (chair), Aimee Bahng, James Fox, Roxanne Samer, and Deb Taber.

Recommendations for the 2017 reading list are open until December 1, 2017. The 2017 jurors will be Alexis Lothian (chair), E.J. Fischer, Kazue Harada, Cheryl Morgan, and Julia Starkey.

For more information, see the Tiptree website.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.