The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2016 winners

2015 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for April, 2017

2017 Hugo and Campbell Awards Finalists, Revised

The Hugo Awards ballot entry for best fan artist was revised April 21, 2017 due to nominee Alex Garner being disqualified. He was replaced by Steve Stiles. The revised Hugo Awards Ballot and the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer are below, as announced by Worldcon 75, the 75th World Science Fiction Convention, […]

Garner Withdrawn from Hugos

Alex Garner has been removed from the Best Fan Artist category for the 2017 Hugo Awards. In a statement released April 21, 2017, Hugo Awards Administrator Nicholas Whyte said: Alex Garner, who was announced as a finalist in the Best Fan Artist category for the 2017 Hugo Awards on 4 April, has notified the Hugo […]

2017 Chesley Awards Nominees

The 2017 Chesley Awards nominees have been announced: Best Cover Illustration: Hardcover Dan dos Santos for Fables: Cubs in Toyland, Bill Willingham (Vertigo) Todd Lockwood for The Summer Dragon, Todd Lockwood (DAW) Tran Nguyen for Kushiel’s Dart, Jacqueline Carey (Subterranean) Cliff Nielsen for Lady Midnight, Cassandra Clare (McElderry) David Palumbo for Arcanum Unbounded, Brandon Sanderson […]

2017 Hugo Awards Voting Open

Voting for the 2017 Hugo Awards and the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer is now open. Votes can be cast online or by paper ballot. The Hugo administrators “hope to have the Hugo Packet available by May.” Voting will close July 15, 2017 at 11:59 PM PDT.

Philip K. Dick Award Judges Announced

The five judges for next year’s Philip K. Dick Award have been announced. Works of science fiction published as paperback originals in the US during the year 2017 are eligible for the award. Robert Onopa, 1040 Manuawili Loop, Kailua HI 96734-4621 Deborah J. Ross, 14775 Virginia Avenue, Boulder Creek CA 95006-9314 James Stoddard, 67 S. Lakeshore […]

Hanson Wins GUFF

Donna Maree Hanson (Australia) has won the 2017 Get Up-and-over Fan Fund (GUFF). The 2017 fund will send Hanson to Worldcon 75 in Helsinki, Finland. Other candidates on the ballot were Sam Hawke, Belle McQuattie, and Alexandra Pierce. GUFF is open to anyone who has been active in science fiction fandom before the start of […]

2017 Gemmell Awards Shortlist

The 2017 David Gemmell Awards shortlists have been announced: The Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel Wrath, John Gwynne (Tor) Nevernight, Jay Kristoff (Harper Voyager) The Wheel of Osheim, Mark Lawrence (Harper Voyager) The Bands of Mourning, Brandon Sanderson (Gollancz) Warbeast, Gav Thorpe (Black Library)   The Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer Infernal, Mark […]

Ytterbium Wins Eastercon Bid

Ytterbium won their bid to host the 2019 British National Science Fiction Convention (Eastercon), in voting held at Eastercon 2017, Innominate. The convention will be held over Easter weekend, April 19-22, 2019 at the Park Inn in Heathrow, UK. Guests of honor will include “DC”, Frances Hardinge, Sydney Padua, and John Scalzi. Adult weekend membership […]

2017 Best Translated Book Awards Finalists

The shortlists for the 2017 Best Translated Book Awards (BTBA) in fiction and poetry were announced April 18, 2017. The fiction category includes Wicked Weeds by Pedro Cabiya, translated by Jessica Powell (Mandel Vilar). Founded in 2008 by Three Percent at the University of Rochester, the BTBA offers a $5,000 cash prize to each winning author […]

Anathema Launch

Anathema: Spec from the Margins, an online “tri-annual speculative fiction magazine of work by queer POC,” launched its first issue on April 4, 2017. Michael Matheson & Andrew Wilmot are co-editors-in-chief. Chinelo Onwualu is non-fiction editor. The first issue features fiction by Stephanie Chan, Brent Lambert, S. Qiouyi Lu, Ayodele Olofintuade, and Tony Pi, as […]

© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.