The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2016-2017 Canopus Awards Finalists

Finalists for the 100 Year Starship (100YSS) 2016-2017 Canopus Awards for Excellence in Interstellar Writing have been announced. Canopus recognizes “the finest fiction and non-fiction works that engage broad audiences and enhance the understanding excitement, and knowledge of interstellar space exploration and travel.”

Previously Published Long-Form Fiction (40,000 words or more)

Previously Published Short-Form Fiction (between 1,000 and 40,000 words)

  • “Love and Relativity”, Stewart C. Baker (Nature 9/15)
  • “The Long Vigil”, Rhett C. Bruno (Perihelion 6/15)
  • “The Citadel of Weeping Pearls”, Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s 10-11/15)
  • “The Four Thousand, the Eight Hundred”, Greg Egan (Asimov’s 12/15)
  • “Wavefronts of History and Memory”, David D. Levine (Analog 6/13)
  • Slow Bullets, Alastair Reynolds (Tachyon)
  • “Whom He May Devour”, Alex Shvartsman (Nautilus 1/16)

Previously Published Non-Fiction (between 1,000 and 40,000 words)

  • Welcome to Mars: Making a Home on the Red Planet, Buzz Aldrin & Marianne Dyson (National Geographic)
  • “A Terrestrial Planet Candidate in a Temperate Orbit Around Proxima”, Guillem Anglada-Escudé, et al. (Nature 8/16)
  • “A Science Critique of Aurora by Kim Stanley Robinson”, Stephen Baxter, James Benford & Joseph Miller (Centauri Dreams 8/15)
  • “Our Worldship Broke!”, Jim Beall ( 2015)
  • “Let’s All Go to Mars”, John Lanchester (London Review of Books 9/15)

Original Fiction (1,000-5,000 words)

  • “Luminosity”, Adeene Denton
  • “The Quest for New Cydonia”, Russell Hemmell
  • “Envoy”, K.G. Jewell
  • “Mission”, Yoshifumi Kakiuchi
  • “Sleeping Westward”, Lorraine Schein

Original Non-Fiction (1,000-5,000 words)

  • “Motivatingly Plausible Ways to Reach the Stars”, James Blodgett
  • “Microbots—The Seeds of Interstellar Civilization”, Robert Buckalew
  • “Terraforming Planets, Geoengineering Earth”, James Fleming
  • “An Anthropic Program for the Long-Term Survival of Humankind”, Roberto Paura

Original College Writing (1,000-5,000 words)

  • “Ethics in Space”, Greg Becker
  • “A Kingdom of Ends”, Ryan Burgess

Winners will be presented with award sculptures made of optical crystal on August 12, 2017 during the 100YSS Nexus held in Los Angeles CA, August 9-13, 2017.

For more information about 100 Year Starship and the Canopus Awards, see their official website.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.