The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2016 winners

2015 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2017 Nommo Awards Shortlist

The African Speculative Fiction Society (ASFS) has announced the shortlist for the 2017 Nommo Awards. All titles “are speculative fiction, were published in calendar years 2015 or 2016, and are thought to be by Africans as defined by the ASFS and Nommo Awards Guidelines.”

Best Novel

Best Novella

  • “Hell Freezes Over”, Mame Bougouma Diene (AfroSFv2)
  • “The Flying Man of Stone”, Dilman Dila (AfroSFv2)
  • Ta O’Reva, Muthi Nhlema (
  • Binti, Nnedi Okorafor ( publishing)
  • “The Last Pantheon”, Tade Thompson & Nick Wood (AfroSFv2)

Best Short Story

  • “Who Will Greet You at Home”, Lesley Nneka Arimah (The New Yorker 10/26/15)
  • “The Marriage Plot”, Tendai Huchu (Omenana 3/16)
  • “Sundown”, Acan Innocent Immaculate (Munyori Literary Journal Writervism 2016)
  • “Ndakusuwa”, Blaize M. Kaye (Fantastic Stories of the Imagination 11-12/16)
  • “Wednesday’s Story”, Wole Talabi (Lightspeed 5/16)

Best Graphic Novel

  • Chronic #3: “The Corpse Exhibition”, Ntone Edjabe, ed. (Comic Republic)
  • June XII, Ibrahim Ganiyu & Stanley Obende (Vortex)
  • Avonome, Xavier Ighorodje & Stanley Obende (Comic Republic)
  • Might of Guardian Prime, Jide Martin & Toheeb Deer Ipaye (Comic Republic)

Winners will be honored at the Aké Festival, November 2017 in Nigeria. A prize of $3,000 will be shared among the winners of four categories: best novel ($1,000), best novella ($500), best short story ($500), and best graphic novel ($1,000).

For more information, see the ASFS site.

© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.