The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Erlbruch Wins Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

German artist and writer Wolf Erlbruch is the winner of the 2017 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, honoring children’s and young-adult literature. The award, which is presented by the Swedish Arts Council, is accompanied by a cash prize of 5 million krona ($555,100), and is the world’s largest financial award for children’s and young-adult works.

Erlbruch has written or illustrated more than 50 books, including dark fairy tale Die Menschenfresserin (1996) with Valérie Dayre, Duck, Death and the Tulip (2007), and The Bear Who Wasn’t There and the Fabulous Forest (2014) with Oren Lavie.

The jury stated that Erlbruch’s work “makes existential questions accessible and manageable for readers of all ages. With humour and warmth deeply rooted in humanist ideals, his work presents the universe on our scale.” The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award will be presented to Erlbruch at the Stockholm Concert Hall in Sweden on May 29, 2017.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.