The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for May, 2017

2017 Futurescapes Writing Contest

The annual Futurescapes short story contest is now open to submissions from amateur and semi-professional writers. This year’s theme is “Blue Sky Cities” and the judges are “seeking stories set in a near-future city where significant strides have been made toward improving air quality, climate adaptation, or even net positive impacts on climate and air […]

Bisexual Book Awards Finalists 2016

The Bi Writers Association (BWA) announced finalists for the 5th annual Bisexual Book Awards on May 12, 2017, including a Speculative Fiction category: Speculative Fiction [Sci-fi/Fantasy/Horror/Etc.] Necrotech, K.C. Alexander (Angry Robot) Labyrinth Lost, Zoraida Cordova (Sourcebooks Fire) The Painted Crown, Megan Derr (Less Than Three) For the Clan, Archer Kay Leah (Less Than Three) An […]

2017 Premio Italia Winners

The Italian Conference of Fantasy and Science Fiction (Italcon) announced winners for the 2017 Premio Italia on May 28, 2017, during StarCon Italia 2017, held May 25-28, 2017 in Chianciano Terme, Italy. International SF Novel Il verde di Marte [Green Mars], Kim Stanley Robinson (Fanucci) L’ultima rivelazione di Gla’aki [The Last Revelation of Gla’aki], Ramsey Campbell (Hypnos) […]

Special Prometheus Award for Freefall

Freefall, a webcomic by Mark Stanley, has won a Special Prometheus Award from the Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS). The special award will be presented in a ceremony along with the hall of fame award and the award for best novel in a ceremony during Worldcon 75, August 9-13, 2017 in Helsinki Finland.

2017 Aurora Awards Ballot

The 2017 Aurora Awards ballot has been announced, celebrating the “best works and activities done by Canadians in 2016,” including a special “Best of the Decade” category with works “first published between 2001 and the end of 2010 by Canadians.” Best Novel Company Town, Madeline Ashby (Tor) The Courier, Gerald Brandt (DAW) The Nature of […]

2017 Sunburst Awards Longlist

The jury’s selections for the 2017 Sunburst Awards for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic were announced May 29, 2017: Adult Fiction The Spawning Grounds, Gail Anderson-Dargatz (Knopf Canada) Company Town, Madeline Ashby (Tor) Three Years With the Rat, Jay Hosking (Hamish Hamilton) Spells of Blood and Kin, Claire Humphrey (Thomas Dunne) The Witches of New […]

Gaiman to Read Cheesecake Factory Menu for Charity

As part of a fundraising campaign being organized by writer and comedian Sara Benincasa to benefit world refugees, bestselling author Neil Gaiman has agreed to do a live reading of the entire Cheesecake Factory menu if fans raise $500,000 for the United Nations Refugee Agency (UNHCR). Benincasa hopes to reach the funding goal by World Refugee […]

Game Writing Nebula Category

Beginning with the 2018 Nebula Awards (for works published in 2017), there will be a new award category: Best Game Writing. SFWA President Cat Rambo says “all forms of game writing will be eligible.” SFWA expects to have the game writing versions of their suggested reading list and new release newsletter available this week. For more on the […]

Springer Wins Tomorrow Prize

Sci-Fest LA has announced the winners for its Tomorrow Prize for short science fiction by LA county high school students. Finalists had their stories read by celebrity guests during LitFest Pasadena. Winners First Place: “The Most Satisfying Sound”, Joseph Springer Second Place: “The Dead Light”, Leslie Le Third Place: “Another Reality”, Samuel Fischbach Finalists “A […]

Vaughn Wins 2017 Colorado Book Award

Author Carrie Vaughn won the Colorado Book Award in the Genre Fiction category for her collection Amaryllis and Other Stories (Fairwood). Winners of the 2017 Colorado Book Awards were announced May 21 at the Parker Arts, Culture & Events Center in Parker CO. Found: Short Stories by Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers, edited by Mario Acevedo […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.