The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2017 Crystal Kite Winners

The Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) have announced the winners of the 2017 Crystal Kite Awards. The peer-voted awards are given for excellence in children’s books in 15 US and international regions. Winners of genre interest include:


Stories of the Aurora, Joan Marie Galat (Whitecap)

SouthWest Division

Space Boy and the Space Pirate, Dian Curtis Regan (Boyds Mills)

UK, Ireland

More of Me, Kathryn Evans (Usborne)

Western Division

The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle, Janet Fox (Viking)

Winners will receive an engraved crystal award, an opportunity to present at a regional conference, and a silver sticker for the winning book. One winner will be chosen to present at the 46th Annual Summer Conference, to be held July 7-10, 2017 at the JW Marriott in Los Angeles CA.

For more information, including a complete list of winners, see the SCBWI website.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.