The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2016 winners

2015 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for June, 2017

Uncanny Staff Changes

Julia Rios is stepping down as reprint editor, poetry editor, and interviewer at Uncanny. Mimi Mondal will be poetry and reprint editor and Shana DuBois will be interviewer beginning with issue 19 (November/December 2017) . For more information, see the official announcement at Uncanny.

Horn Wins James White Award

The James White Award Short Story competition has announced this year’s winner: “The Morrigan”, Stewart Horn “The Cut”, Elsie WK Donald “Don”, Steve Dubois “The Dying Glass”, Cameron Johnston “Skin and Bone”, Beth Plutchak “May the Pain Guide You Home”, Daniel Roy A special commendation was given to “May the Pain Guide You Home” by […]

Whitehead Wins Carnegie Medal

Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad (Doubleday) won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction, chosen by a seven-member selection committee of library professionals. Whitehead will be honored and receive a $5,000 prize at the American Library Association’s (ALA) Annual Conference, June 24, 2017 at the Hilton Chicago in Chicago IL. Finalists Michael Chabon (Moonglow, […]

2017 Prix Utopiales Européen

The shortlist for the 2017 Prix Utopiales Européen has been announced. Spire – Tome 1: Ce qui relie, Laurent Genefort (Critic) Luna [Luna: New Moon], Ian McDonald (Denoël) Merfer [Railsea], China Miéville (Fleuve) Mes vrais enfants [My Real Children], Jo Walton (Denoël) L’installation de la peur, Rui Zink (Agullo) The winner of the Utopiales European […]

2017 Locus Awards Winners

The Locus Science Fiction Foundation has announced winners in each category of the 2017 Locus Awards. The Locus Awards are chosen by a survey of readers in an open online poll that runs from February 1 to April 15. We welcome and invite everyone to vote in the poll. Our recommended list for 2016 can […]

2017 Prix Utopiales Européen Jeunesse

The shortlist for the 2017 Prix Utopiales Européen Jeunesse has been announced. Jungle Park, Philippe Arnaud (Sarbacane) L’Effet Ricochet, Nadia Coste (Seuil jeunesse) L’éveil, Jean-Baptiste de Panafieu (Gulf Stream) Le jardin des épitaphes, tome 1: Celui qui reste debout, Taï-Marc Le Thanh (Didier jeunesse) New Earth Project, David Moitet (Didier jeunesse) The winner of the Utopiales “European Youth […]

World Fantasy 2018 Guests of Honor

The 2018 World Fantasy Convention (WFC) has announced the addition of special guest Aliette de Bodard, joining Guests of Honor Michael J. Walsh and Tom Kidd. WFC 2018 will be held November 1-4, 2018 at the Baltimore Renaissance Harborplace Hotel in Baltimore MD. The theme is “Ports in a Storm.” Attending memberships are currently $175. […]

2016 Sidewise Awards Nominees

The nominees for the 2016 Sidewise Awards for Alternate History have been announced. Short Form “The Danish Crutch”, Anna Belfrage (1066 Turned Upside Down) “Treasure Fleet”, Daniel M. Bensen (Tales from Alternate Earths) “Twilight of the Mesozoic Moon”, Brent A. Harris & Ricardo Victoria (Tales from Alternate Earths) “The Battle of London Bridge”, G.K. Holloway (1066 Turned […]

2017 James White Award Shortlist

The James White Award Short Story competition has announced this year’s shortlist: “The Cut”, Elsie WK Donald “Don”, Steve Dubois “The Morrigan”, Stewart Horn “The Dying Glass”, Cameron Johnston “Skin and Bone”, Beth Plutchak “May the Pain Guide You Home”, Daniel Roy The James White Award is open to previously unpublished stories between 1,000 and […]

2017 ESFS Awards Winners

The European Science Fiction Society (ESFS) Hall of Fame Awards, Achievement Awards, and Chrysalis Awards winners were announced during the 39th Eurocon on June 17, 2017, in Dortmund, Germany. Zoran Živković of Serbia was named European Grand Master. Other awards winners and nominees are below. Hall of Fame Awards: Best Author Dario Tonani (Italy) Juraj Červenák (Slovakia) Yana Dubynianska (Ukraine) […]

© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.