The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2017 Ditmar and Other Australian Awards

The 2017 Ditmar Award winners for Australian SF have been announced, along with some other Australian awards:

Best Novel

Best Novella/Novelette

  • “Did We Break the End of the World?”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Defying Doomsday)
  • “Going Viral”, Thoraiya Dyer (Dimension6 #8)
  • “By the Laws of Crab and Woman”, Jason Fischer (Review of Australian Fiction Volume 17, Issue 6)
  • “All the Colours of the Tomato”, Simon Petrie, (Dimension6 #9)
  • “Glass Slipper Scandal”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Sheep Might Fly)
  • “Finnegan’s Field”, Angela Slatter ( 1/16)

Best Short Story

  • “There’s No Place Like Home”, Edwina Harvey (AntipodeanSF #221)
  • “Flame Trees”, T.R. Napper (Asimov’s 4-5/16)

Best Collected Work (tie)

Best Artwork

  • Shauna O’Meara for illustration of Lackington’s #12

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • 2016 Australian SF Snapshot, Greg Chapman, Tehani Croft, et. al.
  • Earl Grey Editing Services, Elizabeth Fitzgerald
  • Galactic Suburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Alex Pierce, & Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott & Ian Mond
  • Galactic Chat, Alexandra Pierce, David McDonald, Sarah Parker, Helen Stubbs, Mark Webb, & Sean Wright
  • The Coode Street Podcast, Gary K. Wolfe & Jonathan Strahan

Best Fan Writer

  • Foz Meadows
  • James “Jocko” Allen
  • Aidan Doyle
  • Bruce Gillespie
  • Tansy Rayner Roberts

Best New Talent

  • Marlee Jane Ward
  • T.R. Napper

William Atheling Jr. Award for Criticism or Review

  • Essays and reviews in Weird Fiction Review, Kat Clay
  • “Revisiting Pern: The great McCaffrey reread” series, Tehani Croft & Marisol Dunham
  • Reviews in Tsana’s Reads and Reviews, Tsana Dolichva
  • Reviews in The Hysterical Hamster, Ian Mond
  • Reviews in Randomly Yours, Alex, Alexandra Pierce
  • History and Fiction: Writers, their Research, Worlds and Stories, Gillian Polack (Peter Lang)

No award was given in the Best Fan Artist category.

Several other awards were also presented:

Peter McNamara Achievement Award

  • Rose Mitchell

A. Bertram Chandler Award for Outstanding Achievement in Science Fiction

  • Bill Wright

The awards were presented on June 11, 2017 at Continuum 13, the 56th Australian National Science Fiction Convention held in Melbourne, Australia.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.