The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Alderman Wins Baileys Women’s Prize

Naomi Alderman’s The Power (Viking) has won the 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize. The award, celebrating “excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women throughout the world,” comes with a prize of £30,000 and a bronze “Bessie” trophy.

The judges chose The Power for “Naomi Alderman’s brilliantly imagined dystopia – her big ideas and her fantastic imagination.” The award was presented during a ceremony on June 7, 2017 at the Royal Festival Hall in Southbank Center, London. For more information, see the Baileys Women’s Prize website.

Alderman will also join the judging panel for the 30th Anniversary Royal Insight Investment Science Book Prize. For more information, see the Royal Society website.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.