The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for July, 2017

2017 Mythopoeic Awards Winners

The Mythopoeic Society announced the 2017 Mythopoeic Awards winners at Mythcon 48, July 28-31, 2017 at the St. John’s Catholic Newman Center at the University of Illinois in Champaign IL. Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Kingfisher, Patricia A. McKillip (Ace) Will Do Magic For Small Change, Andrea Hairston (Aqueduct) Ghost Talkers, Mary Robinette Kowal […]

2017 REH Foundation Awards Winners

The Robert E. Howard Foundation announced the winners for its 2017 REH Foundation Awards on June 10, 2017 during Robert E. Howard Days in Cross Plains TX. The Atlantean – Outstanding Achievement, Book (non-anthology/collection) On the Precipice of Fascism: The Mythic and the Political in the Works of Robert E. Howard and Ernst Junger, Patrick […]

2017 RITA and Golden Heart Awards Winners

The RITA and Golden Heart Awards were presented by the Romance Writers of America at their annual convention in Orlando FL on July 27, 2017. The RITA is presented for best novel, and the Golden Heart is a contest for the best novel by an unpublished novelist. Winners of genre interest follow. RITA for Paranormal […]

Underground Railroad Wins Clarke Award

The winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel published in 2016 has been announced: The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead (Fleet) A Closed and Common Orbit, Becky Chambers (Hodder & Stoughton) Ninefox Gambit, Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris) After Atlas, Emma Newman (Roc) Occupy Me, Tricia Sullivan (Gollancz) Central Station, Lavie Tidhar […]

2017 Scribe Awards Winners

The International Association of Media Tie-in Writers announced the winners of the 2017 Scribe Awards July 21, 2017 at Comic-Con International, at the San Diego Convention Center in San Diego CA. The Scribe Awards honor excellence in licensed tie-in writing. Recipients of genre interest follow. Speculative Original Assassin’s Creed: Heresy, Christie Golden (Ubisoft) Warhammer 40,000: Warden of […]

2017 Man Booker Longlist

The 13-title longlist for the Man Booker Prize includes several titles of possible genre interest: 4 3 2 1, Paul Auster (Faber & Faber) Exit West, Mohsin Hamid (Hamish Hamilton) Lincoln in the Bardo, George Saunders (Bloomsbury) The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead (Fleet) The award, which includes a £50,000 prize, is presented annually to the […]

2017 World Fantasy Award Finalists

The World Fantasy Awards ballot for works published in 2016 has been announced. The awards will be presented during the World Fantasy Convention, held November 2-5, 2017 at the Wyndham Riverwalk in San Antonio TX. The Lifetime Achievement Awards, presented annually to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service to the fantasy field, will go to […]

2017 Endeavour Award Nominees

Finalists for the 2017 Endeavour Award, given to a novel or single-author collection by a Pacific Northwest writer, were announced: Waypoint Kangaroo, Curtis Chen (Thomas Dunne) Eocene Station, Dave Duncan (Five Rivers) Arabella of Mars, David D. Levine (Tor) Dreams of Distant Shores, Patricia McKillip (Tachyon) Lovecraft Country, Matt Ruff (Harper) The 2017 judges are […]

2017 Seiun Awards Winners

The 56th Japan Science Fiction Convention has announced the 2017 Seiun Awards winners (the Japanese equivalent to the Hugo Awards), honoring the best original and translated works published last year in Japan. The winners for translated works are: Best Translated Novel United States of Japan, Peter Tieryas, translated by Naoya Nakahara (Hayakawa) Imperial Radch trilogy, […]

2017 Eisner Awards

The 2017 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards were announced at Comic-Con International in San Diego on July 21, 2017. Winners of SF/F interest include: Best Short Story “Good Boy”, Tom King & David Finch (Batman Annual #1) Best Single Issue/One-Shot Beasts of Burden: What the Cat Dragged In, Evan Dorkin, Sarah Dyer & Jill Thompson […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.