The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2017 Rhysling Award Winners

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Poetry Association (SFPA) has announced the winners of the annual Rhysling Awards for SF, fantasy, and horror poetry in short and long form categories. This year’s winners are:


First Place
“George Tecumseh Sherman’s Ghosts”, Marge Simon (Silver Blade Fall 2016)

Second Place
“Build a Rocketship Contest: Alternative Class A Instructions and Suggestions”, Wendy Rathbone (Asimov’s 1/16)

Third Place (tie)
“The Box of Dust and Monsters”, Beth Cato (Devilfish Review 8/16)

“Godzilla vs. King Kong”, James S. Dorr (Dreams and Nightmares 103)

“Richard Feynman’s Commute”, Jon Wesick (The Were-Traveler 12/16)



First Place
“Rose Child”, Theodora Goss (Uncanny 11-12/16)

Second Place
“The Rime of the Eldritch Mariner”, Adam Bolivar (Spectral Realms Summer ’16)

Third Place
“Not Like This”, Mary Soon Lee (Apex 8/16)

Poems are chosen by the membership of the SFPA, who vote on a list of nominations made by individual members and published in the Rhysling Anthology. Winners are often reprinted in the annual Nebula Awards Anthology.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.