The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Shirley Jackson Awards Winners

The 2016 Shirley Jackson Awards winners for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction were announced at a ceremony, July 16, 2017 at Readercon 28 at the Quincy Marriott in Quincy MA.


WINNER: The Girls, Emma Cline (Random House)


WINNER: The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle ( Publishing)


WINNER: “Waxy”, Camilla Grudova (Granta 9/16)

  • “Andy Kaufman Creeping Through the Trees”, Laird Barron (Autumn Cthulhu)
  • “Breaking Water”, Indrapramit Das ( 2/10/16)
  • “The Night Cyclist”, Stephen Graham Jones ( 9/21/16)
  • “Angel, Monster, Man”, Sam J. Miller (Nightmare 1/16)
  • “Presence”, Helen Oyeyemi (What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours)


WINNER: “Postcards from Natalie”, Carrie Laben (The Dark 7/16)

  • “The Apartments”, Karen Heuler (Other Places)
  • “Red”, Katie Knoll (The Masters Review 10/7/16)
  • “Things With Beards”, Sam J. Miller (Clarkesworld 6/16)
  • “Animal Parts”, Irenosen Okojie (Speak, Gigantular)


WINNER: A Natural History of Hell, Jeffrey Ford (Small Beer)


WINNER: The Starlit Wood, Dominik Parisien & Navah Wolfe, eds. (Saga)

In addition, a Board of Directors Award was presented for Ruth Franklin for her contribution in furthering the legacy of Shirley Jackson, namely in recognition of her first biography, Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life (Liveright/W.W. Norton, 2016).


© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.