The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2016 winners

2015 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for 'Announcements'

2016 Bram Stoker Awards Final Ballot

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) announced the finalists for the 2016 Bram Stoker Awards on February 23, 2017. Superior Achievement in a Novel Hard Light, Elizabeth Hand (Minotaur) Mongrels, Stephen Graham Jones (William Morrow) The Fisherman, John Langan (Word Horde) Stranded, Bracken MacLeod (Tor) Disappearance at Devil’s Rock, Paul Tremblay (William Morrow) Superior Achievement in a First Novel […]

Call For The Best Horror of The Year

Ellen Datlow has released a call for submissions for an upcoming volume of the Best Horror of the Year series, to include material published in 2017: I am looking for stories and poetry from all branches of horror: from the traditional-supernatural to the borderline, including high-tech sf horror, supernatural stories, psychological horror, dark crime, or anything […]

2016 Locus Recommended Reading List

Welcome to the Locus Annual Recommended Reading List! The list is published in Locus Magazine’s February 2017 issue, and is a consensus by Locus editors, reviewers, and other professionals — editor-in-chief Liza Groen Trombi; reviews editor Jonathan Strahan; reviewers Liz Bourke, Carolyn Cushman, Paul Di Filippo, Gardner Dozois, Amy Goldschlager, Paula Guran, Rich Horton, John […]

2017 DUFF Nominee

Paul Weimer was announced as the only candidate for the 2017 Down Under Fan Fund (DUFF) on January 28, 2017. The 2017 fund is intended to send fans from North America to attend Continuum 13, the 56th Australian National Science Fiction Convention, to be held at the Jasper Hotel in Melbourne on June 9-12, 2017. […]

HWA Endowment Recipients

The Horror Writers Association announced the winners of its first set of Young Adults Write Now endowments on January 23, 2017. Five libraries will receive $500 each to fund teen writing events. This year’s recipients are: Athens-Limestone Public Library, Athens AL: “The Page Turner Program” Fayetteville-Lincoln County Public Library, Fayetteville TN: “Something Wicked We Write” […]

Lord Named Worldcon Toastmistress

Worldcon 75 announced in their Progress Report #3 that “writer, teacher, and former diplomat, research consultant and part-time soldier” Karen Lord will be Toastmistress for the 75th World Science Fiction Convention to be held August 9-13, 2017 in Helsinki, Finland. Guests of honor for the weekend will include John-Henri Holmberg, Nalo Hopkinson, Johanna Sinisalo, Claire Wendling, […]

2017 ALA Awards

The American Library Association (ALA) announced the winners of several awards during their Midwinter Meeting at the Georgia World Congress Center in Atlanta GA, January 20-24, 2017. The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday) won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence. The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill (Algonquin) won the John Newbery Medal “for the most outstanding […]

2016 Stoker Preliminary Ballot

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) announced the preliminary ballot for the 2016 Bram Stoker Awards on January 20, 2017. Superior Achievement in a Novel Dead Souls, J. Lincoln Fenn (Gallery) Hard Light, Elizabeth Hand (Minotaur) Mongrels, Stephen Graham Jones (William Morrow) The Fisherman, John Langan (Word Horde) The Tank, Nicola Lombardi (Dunwich Edizioni) Stranded, Bracken MacLeod (Tor) Into the Mist, […]

2017 Edgar Awards Nominations

Several authors and works of genre interest are on the 2017 Edgar Awards shortlist, including Peter Ackroyd, Ally Condie, Shirley Jackson, Stephen King, Joyce Carol Oates, and Bram Stoker, among others. Max Allan Collins has been named a Grand Master. The Edgar Allan Poe Awards, “honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television,” will be […]

Fantastic Stories of the Imagination to Close

Publisher Warren Lapine announced on January 18, 2017 that Fantastic Stories of the Imagination will be closing after its January regular issue and its “People of Color Take Over” special issue. Lapine cited financial concerns and personal circumstances as contributing factors to his decision. He also said that remaining subscriptions will be fulfilled with electronic […]

© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.