The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2016 finalists

2016 winners

2015 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for 'Awards'

2016 Geffen Awards Winners

The 2016 Geffen Awards winners have been announced. The awards are presented by the Israeli Society for Science Fiction and Fantasy. Best Translated Science Fiction Book Redshirts, John Scalzi, translated by Zafrir Grossman (Opus) Best Translated Fantasy Book Fool’s Assassin, Robin Hobb, translated by Zafrir Grossman (Opus) Best Translated YA Book The Blood of Olympus, Rick Riordan, […]

2016 Imadjinn Award Winners

The winners of the inaugural Imadjinn Awards were announced at an awards banquet on October 8, 2016 during the Imaginarium Convention held October 7-9, 2016 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Louisville KY. The award trophies are given to small press and independently published authors selected by jury. Winners of genre interest follow. Best Anthology […]

Prime Minister’s Literary Awards Shortlists

The Prime Minister and Arts Minister of Australia announced the shortlists for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards on October 17, 2016. The awards “celebrate outstanding literary talent in Australia and the valuable contribution Australian literature and history makes to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life.” Each award category is allocated a A$100,000 prize pool, with […]

2017 Baen Memorial Contest Opens

Baen Books has opened the 2017 Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award contest. Co-sponsored by the National Space Society, the contest focuses on stories of near-future space exploration. The deadline for submissions is February 1, 2017. The grand prize includes publication on the Baen website at professional rates, an engraved award, an assortment of Baen […]

Tremblay Wins Massachusetts Book Award

The Massachusetts Center for the Book announced the winners of its Massachusetts Book Awards on October 5, 2016. The awards “recognize significant works of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and children’s/young adult literature published by Commonwealth residents or about Massachusetts subjects.” A Head Full of Ghosts, by Paul Tremblay won the Fiction Award, chosen by a panel […]

McDonald Wins Gaylactic Spectrum

The winner for the 2016 Gaylactic Spectrum Award in the novel category was announced at Gaylaxicon 2016, held October 7-9, 2016 in Minneapolis MN, at the DoubleTree Hotel Minneapolis-Park Place: Luna: New Moon, Ian McDonald (Tor) Chaos Station, Jenn Burke & Kelly Jensen (Carina) The Mystic Marriage, Heather Rose Jones (Bella) The Bastard’s Paradise, Kathe Koja (Roadswell) […]

Shoemaker Wins WSFA Small Press Award

The winner of the 2016 Washington Science Fiction Association (WSFA) Small Press Award for Short Fiction was announced October 8, 2016. “Today I Am Paul”, Martin L. Shoemaker (Clarkesworld 8/15) “The Art of Deception”, Stephanie Burgis (Insert Title Here) “Headspace”, Beth Cato (Cats in Space) “Leashing the Muse”, Larry Hodges (Space and Time 5/15) “Cat […]

Whitehead Shortlisted for NBA

Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad (Doubleday) is one of five finalists for the National Book Awards in the Fiction category. Winners will be announced November 16, 2016 at a ceremony in New York. For more, including complete lists of finalists, see the National Book Awards site.

2016 Copper Cylinder Awards

The Sunburst Award Society has announced the winners of the fifth annual Copper Cylinder Awards. The Adult Award winner is Signal to Noise by Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Solaris). The Young Adult Award winner is An Inheritance of Ashes by Leah Bobet (Scholastic Canada). The Copper Cylinder Awards celebrate “the best in Canadian fantastic literature published during the […]

Benford Wins Forry Award

The Los Angeles Science Fantasy Society (LASFS) has selected Gregory Benford as this year’s recipient of the Forry Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Field of Science Fiction. The award, named for Forrest J Ackerman, has been presented annually since 1966. Past winners include Ray Bradbury, Andre Norton, Roger Zelazny, and Connie Willis.

© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.