The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for 'Contests'

XPRIZE Short Fiction Contest

XPRIZE, “the global leader in designing and implementing innovative competition models to solve the world’s grandest challenges,” has announced a short science fiction contest with the aim of “envisioning a world transformed by exponential technologies and a global community of innovators.” The contest offers a $10,000 prize package that includes round-trip airfare to Tokyo for […]

Joan Aiken Future Classics Prize

The A.M. Heath literary agency and Joan Aiken’s estate are holding a competition for new middle-grade fiction. The competition will be judged by agent Julia Churchill and Lizza Aiken, curator of the Aiken estate. The winner will receive £1,000 and a set of Joan Aiken’s The Wolves Chronicles. Deadline for entries is July 31, 2017. […]

2017 Futurescapes Writing Contest

The annual Futurescapes short story contest is now open to submissions from amateur and semi-professional writers. This year’s theme is “Blue Sky Cities” and the judges are “seeking stories set in a near-future city where significant strides have been made toward improving air quality, climate adaptation, or even net positive impacts on climate and air […]

2017 Roswell Award Winner

“Fifteen Minutes Hate” by Richard Larson won the 2017 Roswell Award for Sci-Fest LA’s short story writing contest. Allison Scagliotti read the story aloud and Larson received a $500 cash prize during a ceremony on May 20, 2017 at the Pasadena Playhouse in Pasadena CA. For more information about the award, see Sci-Fest LA’s website.

2017 NESFA Short Story Contest

The New England Science Fiction Association (NESFA) SF/F short story contest is now open to entries from amateur and semi-professional writers. Winners will be selected by a panel of judges and announced at Boskone 55, to be held at the Boston Waterfront Hotel in Boston MA, February 16-18, 2018. Prizes include certificates of achievement, books […]

2017 Writers & Illustrators of the Future Awards

The 2017 Writers of the Future Golden Pen Award went to Jake Marley for his story “Acquisition”. The Illustrators of the Future Golden Brush Award went to Michael Michera for his illustration of C.L. Kagmi’s story “The Drake Equation”. They were honored, along with the other 2016 quarterly contest winners, at a ceremony held April 2, […]

2017 Baen Memorial Contest Winner

Baen Books has announced the winner of the 2017 Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award: Grand Prize: “Feldspar”, Philip A. Kramer First runner-up: “Bullet Catch”, Stephen Lawson Second runner-up: “An Economy of Air”, M.T. Reiten Other finalists include: Stewart C. Baker S.B. Divya Susan Forest C. Stuart Hardwick Bart Kemper Harry Lang Angus McIntyre The […]

2016 NEA Fellowships Announced

Several authors of genre interest are recipients of 2016 Literature Fellowships awarded by The National Endowment for the Arts. Diane Cook, Lucy Corin, and Aaron Their are among the writers who received grants of $25,000 each. The grants are meant to give “writers the time and space to create, revise, conduct research, and connect with […]

World Fantasy Award Trophy Submissions Update

The World Fantasy Awards administration has updated their call for new trophy designs, which was originally announced in November 2015, adding compensation for the winning design: two complimentary memberships to World Fantasy Conventions for ten years; two banquet tickets for the 2016 World Fantasy Convention and complimentary space in the Columbus art room; and discounted […]

2016 Jim Baen Memorial Award Finalists

Baen Books has released the list of ten finalists for the 2016 Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award: Jennifer Brozek J. Lily Corbie Ron Ferguson C. Stuart Hardwick Bart Kemper Steve Last Thomas A. Mays Aimee Ogden Al Onia Eric Picholle The winning story will be featured on the Baen website. The author will be given […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.