The Website of The Magazine of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2013 Winners

[* links to sfadb pages with nominee indexing and cover images]

2012 Winners



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for 'Obituaries'

Alan Rodgers (1959-2014)

Writer and editor Alan Rodgers, 54, died March 8, 2014 in Anaheim CA. Alan Paul Rodgers was born August 11, 1959 in Montclair NJ. He began publishing fantasy with Stoker Award winner and World Fantasy Award nominee “The Boy who Came Back from the Dead” (1987). Debut horror novel Blood of the Children (1989) was […]

Michael Shea (1946-2014)

Author Michael Shea, 67, died suddenly on February 16, 2014. Shea wrote fantasy, SF, and horror, and was known for his literary ambition and sophisticated prose. His novel Nifft the Lean (1983) won a World Fantasy Award, as did novella “The Growlimb” (2004). Shea’s first novel A Quest for Simbilis (1974) was a British Fantasy […]

Aaron Allston (1960-2014)

Aaron Allston, 53, suffered an apparent heart attack and collapsed at VisionCon in Springfield MO on February 27, 2014, and died later that day. Allston is best known for his extensive work in the Star Wars expanded universe, writing novels in the X-Wing, New Jedi Order, Legacy of the Force, and Fate of the Jedi series. […]

Mark E. Rogers (1952-2014)

Writer and artist Mark E. Rogers, 61, died February 2, 2014 of an apparent heart attack while hiking in Death Valley with his family. Rogers’s novella “The Runestone” was adapted as a film of the same name in 1990. Debut fantasy novel Zorachus (1986) was followed by sequel The Nightmare of God (1988). He also […]

Stepan Chapman (1951-2014)

Writer Stepan Chapman, 63, died January 27, 2014. Chapman is best known in the SF field for his Philip K. Dick Award-winning novel The Troika (1998), and was renowned for his challenging work, which embraced surrealism and absurdity. Born in Chicago in 1951, Chapman attended the University of Michigan, where he studied theater. In addition […]

Neal Barrett, Jr. (1929-2014)

Neal Barrett, Jr., 84, author of acclaimed fantasy The Hereafter Gang (1991) and a number of celebrated short stories, among other works, died January 12, 2014. Barrett began publishing SF with “To Tell the Truth” in Galaxy (1960). His notable short fiction includes “Perpetuity Blues” (1987), Hugo and Nebula Award finalist “Ginny Sweethips’ Flying Circus” […]

Colin Wilson (1931-2013)

Writer Colin Wilson, 82, died December 5, 2013. Wilson wrote more than 150 books of fiction, criticism, philosophy, and assorted non-fiction during his career. His first core SF novel was The Mind Parasites (1967). Other novels of particular genre interest include The Glass Cage (1967); The Philosopher’s Stone (1969); The Space Vampires (1976; as Lifeforce, […]

Joel Lane (1963-2013)

Author and editor Joel Lane, 50, died suddenly November 25, 2013, reportedly in his sleep. Born 1963 in Exeter, United Kingdom, Lane was best known for his dark short fiction, including  “My Stone Desire” (2007), winner of a British Fantasy Award. His collections were highly regarded: The Earth Wire & Other Stories (1994)  won a British Fantasy […]

Michael Burgess, AKA Robert Reginald (1948-2013)

Author, editor, and publisher Michael Roy Burgess, AKA Robert Reginald, 65, died November 20, 2013 of heart failure. Reginald is best known for his critical essays and bibliographical work in the science fiction field, but he was also the author of many novels and short stories, including his Phantom Detective, Nova Europa, and War of […]

Doris Lessing (1919-2013)

Nobel Prize-winning author Doris Lessing, 94, died November 17, 2013 in London. Lessing is best known for her mainstream fiction, but she wrote many books of SF, most notably the Canopus in Argos: Archives sequence: Re: Colonised Planet 5, Shikasta (1979), The Marriages Between Zones Three, Four, and Five (1980), The Sirian Experiments (1981), The Making of the Representative for Planet 8 (1982), and Documents Relating […]

© 2011-2014 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.