The Magazine and Website of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts

Recent Comments



Site search


A collaborative blog by Locus editors, contributors, and other invited guests. The opinions expressed here are solely those of the authors, and do not reflect the editorial position of Locus Magazine or Locus Online.

(Earlier posts end here in April 2010)




Alvaro Zinos-Amaro


Alan Beatts
Terry Bisson
Marie Brennan
Karen Burnham
Siobhan Carroll
John Clute
F. Brett Cox
Ellen Datlow
Paul Di Filippo
Michael Dirda
Gardner Dozois
Andy Duncan
Stefan Dziemianowicz
Brian Evenson
Jeffrey Ford
Karen Joy Fowler
Kathleen Ann Goonan
Theodora Goss
Elizabeth Hand
Cecelia Holland
Rich Horton
Guy Gavriel Kay
James Patrick Kelly
Mark R. Kelly
Ellen Klages
Russell Letson
Karen Lord
Brit Mandelo
Adrienne Martini
Tim Pratt
Cat Rambo
Paul Graham Raven
Graham Sleight
Maureen Kincaid Speller
Peter Straub
Rachel Swirsky
Paul Witcover
Gary K. Wolfe
E. Lily Yu

BSFA Awards

Later today (4pm CST) the Hugo nominations will be announced. But some 2010 awards are already coming out. At Eastercon yesterday, the British Science Fiction Awards were announced. As per SF Awards Watch, the results are:

Best Novel

  • WINNER: Ian McDonald – The Dervish House (Gollancz)
  • Paolo Bacigalupi – The Windup Girl (Orbit)
  • Lauren Beukes – Zoo City (Angry Robot)
  • Ken Macleod – The Restoration Game (Orbit)
  • Tricia Sullivan – Lightborn (Orbit)

Best Short Fiction

  • WINNER: Aliette de Bodard – “The Shipmaker”- Interzone 231, TTA Press.
  • Nina Allan – “Flying in the Face of God” – Interzone 227, TTA Press.
  • Peter Watts – “The Things” – Clarkesworld 40
  • Neil Williamson – “Arrhythmia” – Music for Another World, Mutation Press

Best Non-Fiction

  • WINNER: Paul Kincaid – Blogging the Hugos: Decline, Big Other
  • Abigail Nussbaum – Review, With Both Feet in the Clouds, Asking the Wrong Questions Blogspot
  • Adam Roberts – Review, Wheel of Time, Punkadiddle
  • Francis Spufford – Red Plenty (Faber and Faber)
  • Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe the Notes from Coode Street Podcast

Best Art

  • WINNER: Joey Hi-Fi -cover for Zoo City, by Lauren Beukes (Angry Robot)
  • Andy Bigwood – cover for Conflicts (Newcon Press)
  • Charlie Harbour – cover for Fun With Rainbows by Gareth Owens (Immersion Press)
  • Dominic Harman – cover for The Cat”s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut (Gollancz)
  • Ben Greene – “A Deafened Plea for Peace”, cover for Crossed Genres 21
  • Adam Tredowski – cover for Finch, by Jeff Vandermeer (Corvus)

A lot of strong nominees here! It bodes well for Ian McDonald’s Dervish House to start off the year winning the BSFA–over last year’s critically acclaimed Windup Girl, nonetheless. It will be interesting to see if it has similar success on the Hugo list.

Write a comment

© 2010 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum