About the Awards
John W. Campbell Memorial Award


By Year
By Category

Winners and
Complete List by Nominee
Records and Tallies

Judges List

• Results by Year:

prev <— About Page thread —> next

The John W. Campbell Memorial Award (not to be confused with the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer) is awarded each year to the best SF novel published in the US. It was the first major SF award established after the Hugos and Nebulas, and is distinguished from them by being a judged award, limited to novel.

Full Name John W. Campbell Memorial Award
First year given 1973, for novels published in 1972
History Founded by Harry Harrison and Brian Aldiss in 1972 to honor recently-deceased John W. Campbell, the influential editor of Astounding (later Analog) magazine from 1937 until his death in 1971.
Who Selected judges
Scope SF novels published in the US
Dating convention year of award
Issues and controversies The 1994 result of 'no award' was reportedly due to difficulties with the voting process among the judges, not a judgment that no novel was worthy of an award.
Type prize
Website http://www.ku.edu/~sfcenter/campbell.htm

Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved