About the Awards
John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer


By Year

Winners and
Complete List by Nominee

• Results by Year:

prev <— About Page thread —> next

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (not to be confused with the John W. Campbell Memorial Award) is sponsored by the publisher of Analog magazine and honors the best new writers whose work has first appeared professionally during the previous two calendar years. Though not a Hugo category, it is voted on the same ballots as the Hugos, and the award is presented at the Hugo ceremony at each year's World SF Convention.

First year given 1973, for writers first published in 1971 and 1972
Losers Club Nominated but didn't win: John Varley (lost to P.J. Plauger), Bruce Sterling, Michael Swanwick, George R.R. Martin
Issues and controversies The two-year limitation rule often excludes influential writers whose early work was not immediately noteworthy. Winners have included P.J. Plauger and Alexis Gilliland, while William Gibson and Connie Willis were never even nominated.

Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved