Nebula Awards Records and Tallies
Nebula Awards


By Year
By Category

Winners and
Complete List by Nominee
Records and Tallies

Jurors List

• Results by Year:

Record winners
With another win in 2011, Connie Willis pulls ahead of Ursula K. Le Guin for the most Nebulas wins, 7. Le Guin has 6; Greg Bear, Joe Haldeman, and Robert Silverberg each have 5.

Losers Club (Most nominations with no wins)
Jack McDevitt and James Patrick Kelly finally won Nebulas in 2007, leaving the late Avram Davidson, with 10 nominations, the leader in this category, with Thomas M. Disch and Bruce Sterling following.

Never Won
Robert A. Heinlein, Philip K. Dick, R.A. Lafferty; Dan Simmons, Neal Stephenson, Tim Powers, Vernor Vinge, John Brunner

Never Even Nominated
Greg Egan, Paul J. McAuley, Stephen Baxter, Iain M. Banks, Christopher Priest, Rudy Rucker, Sheri S. Tepper

(Nebula tallies do not include recipients of the SFWA Grand Master award.)

Total Nebula Wins

7 Connie Willis
6 Ursula K. Le Guin
5 Greg Bear, Joe Haldeman, Robert Silverberg
4 Ted Chiang, Samuel R. Delany, Harlan Ellison, Nancy Kress
3 Poul Anderson, Philippa Boyens, Lois McMaster Bujold, Arthur C. Clarke, Peter Jackson, Fritz Leiber, Kelly Link, Vonda N. McIntyre, James Tiptree, Jr., Fran Walsh, Kate Wilhelm, Roger Zelazny
2 Catherine Asaro, Isaac Asimov, Gregory Benford, Michael Bishop, Terry Bisson, Edward Bryant, Octavia E. Butler, Orson Scott Card, Gardner Dozois, Carol Emshwiller, Karen Joy Fowler, Esther M. Friesner, Neil Gaiman, Charles L. Grant, Elizabeth Hand, Kij Johnson, John Kessel, George R. R. Martin, James Morrow, Pat Murphy, Frederik Pohl, Kim Stanley Robinson, Bruce Holland Rogers, John Varley, Walter Jon Williams, Gene Wolfe, Jane Yolen

Total Nebula Nominations
[Number of wins in brackets]

22 Robert Silverberg [5]
20 Gene Wolfe [2]
18 Ursula K. Le Guin [6], Kate Wilhelm [3]
17 Harlan Ellison [4]
16 Michael Bishop [2], Jack McDevitt [1], Michael Swanwick [1]
15 Connie Willis [7]
14 Roger Zelazny [3]
13 Gregory Benford [2], Jack Dann [1], James Patrick Kelly [1], George R. R. Martin [2]
12 Poul Anderson [3], Nancy Kress [4], Lucius Shepard [1]
11 Gardner Dozois [2], Fritz Leiber [3], Mike Resnick [1], Kim Stanley Robinson [2]
10 Avram Davidson, Samuel R. Delany [4], Frederik Pohl [2], Bruce Sterling, Walter Jon Williams [2]
9 Greg Bear [5], Orson Scott Card [2], Thomas M. Disch, Karen Joy Fowler [2], Joe Haldeman [5], John Kessel [2], Joanna Russ [1], James Tiptree, Jr. [3], John Varley [2], Howard Waldrop [1]
8 Lois McMaster Bujold [3], William Gibson [1], Vonda N. McIntyre [3], Larry Niven [1]

Nebula Never-Winners
Number of nominations without ever having won

10 Avram Davidson, Bruce Sterling
9 Thomas M. Disch
7 R. A. Lafferty, Maureen F. McHugh
6 Richard Bowes, Adam-Troy Castro, Andy Duncan, Barry N. Malzberg, Norman Spinrad
5 Eleanor Arnason, Pat Cadigan, Philip K. Dick, Lisa Goldstein, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Susan M. Shwartz
4 Michael A. Burstein, Robert A. Heinlein, Keith Laumer, Jonathan Lethem, Geoff Ryman, James H. Schmitz, Vernor Vinge, K. D. Wentworth, Scott Westerfeld

Total Nebula Losses
Number of times nominated but lost [Number of wins in bracket]

18 Gene Wolfe [2]
17 Robert Silverberg [5]
15 Jack McDevitt [1], Michael Swanwick [1], Kate Wilhelm [3]
14 Michael Bishop [2]
13 Harlan Ellison [4]
12 Jack Dann [1], James Patrick Kelly [1], Ursula K. Le Guin [6]
11 Gregory Benford [2], George R. R. Martin [2], Lucius Shepard [1], Roger Zelazny [3]
10 Avram Davidson, Mike Resnick [1], Bruce Sterling
9 Poul Anderson [3], Thomas M. Disch, Gardner Dozois [2], Kim Stanley Robinson [2]
8 Nancy Kress [4], Fritz Leiber [3], Frederik Pohl [2], Joanna Russ [1], Howard Waldrop [1], Walter Jon Williams [2], Connie Willis [7]
7 Orson Scott Card [2], Karen Joy Fowler [2], William Gibson [1], John Kessel [2], R. A. Lafferty, Maureen F. McHugh, Larry Niven [1], John Varley [2]
Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved