About the Awards
The Quill Awards


By Year
By Category

Winners and
Complete List by Nominee

• Results by Year:

prev <— About Page thread —> next

The Quill Awards were launched in 2005 to pair "a populist sensibility with Hollywood-style glitz" by polling readers for their favorites in a wide range of categories, with winners announced in a TV awards ceremony.

Full Name The Quill Awards
First year given 2004
Scope A full range of book categories, including a category for Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror
Categories Though several genre-related titles were nominated in other categories, only the SF/fantasy/horror category is compiled here.
Eligibility period year prior to awards
Issues and controversies Ratings for the broadcast awards show were underwhelming, and the SF community was not impressed by the 2005 winner as representative of the SF/F/H field.
Type poll
Process Nominees are chosen by an academy of booksellers and librarians, and winners selected by consumer voting online and in bookstores.
Comments The awards are sponsored by Reed Business Information (parent company of Publishers Weekly) and NBC TV.
Website http://www.quillsliteracy.org/

Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved