About the Awards
Other SFWA Awards


By Year
By Category

• Results by Year:

prev <— About Page thread —> next

This section includes several awards presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA), aside from the Nebula Awards and the Grand Master Award. The annual SFWA Author Emeritus program was established by SFWA in 1995 to "recognize and appreciate senior writers in the genres of science fiction and fantasy who have made significant contributions to our field but who are no longer active or whose excellent work may no longer be as widely known as it once was." The Bradbury Award, named of course after Ray Bradbury, is an occasional award presented at the behest of the SFWA President for excellence in screenwriting. It is not a Nebula Award, but is presented during the Nebula banquet. The Service to SFWA Award is given at the discretion of the SFWA President. Added in 2009, the Solstice Award is given to individuals who have had "a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape".

Issues and controversies The Emeritus award is regarded by some as a consolation prize to writers who, for some reason, are overlooked for SFWA Grand Master status.
Website http://www.sfwa.org/awards/author.htm

Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved