About the Awards
Bram Stoker Awards


By Year
By Category

Winners and
Complete List by Nominee
Records and Tallies

• Results by Year:

prev <— About Page thread —> next

The Bram Stoker Awards are the horror equivalent of the Nebulas, voted by members of the professional Horror Writer's Association. They are notable for being awarded "for superior achievement" — not for "best" of the year.

Full Name Bram Stoker Awards for Superior Achievement
First year given 1988, for works published in 1987
Who Horror Writers Association
What The award is an 8-inch sculpture of a fanciful haunted house, designed by Steven Kirk
Where & When At the annual Stoker Awards banquet.
Eligibility period Year prior to award
Type ballot
Process HWA members recommend works throughout the year; a preliminary ballot is compiled based on the recommendations; a first round of voting determines a final ballot; a second round of voting determines winners.
Comments The listings here include HWA's Specialty Press Award which, though also given by the Horror Writers Association, is technically not a category of the Bram Stoker Awards.
Website http://www.horror.org/stokers.htm

Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved