About the Awards
The American Book Awards


By Year
By Category

• Results by Year:

prev <— About Page thread —> next

The American Book Awards (TABA) were a short-lived variation of the well-known National Book Awards, a variation with expanded categories for genre works, and paperback reprints. The category for SF lasted only one year.

History The awards were intended to expand the scope of traditional literary awards by involving publishers, booksellers, and librarians, as well as writers and critics, in the administrative and voting board. Writers and critics objected (see Boycott TABA from New York Review of Books). The awards were presented from 1980 through 1983, after which the traditional National Book Awards were re-instated.
Categories See National Book Foundation for complete TABA winners.

Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved