Frequently Asked Question 1

<— FAQ thread —> next

What novels have won the Hugo Award? [ List by Author | by Year ]

Robert A. Heinlein and Lois McMaster Bujold have won the Hugo for best novel four times, the record. Connie Willis and Vernor Vinge has each won three times. Quite a few authors have won twice: Asimov, Brin, Card, Cherryh, Clarke, Gaiman, Haldeman, Le Guin, Vinge, and Zelazny. (Click on the name to see other nominations or wins for each title in the Nominee Index; click on the year to see complete Hugo results for that year.)

Isaac Asimov, Foundation's Edge (1983)
Isaac Asimov, The Gods Themselves (1973)
Paolo Bacigalupi, The Windup Girl (2010) [tie]
Alfred Bester, The Demolished Man (1953)
James Blish, A Case of Conscience (1959)
David Brin, Startide Rising (1984)
David Brin, The Uplift War (1988)
John Brunner, Stand on Zanzibar (1969)
Lois McMaster Bujold, Barrayar (1992)
Lois McMaster Bujold, Mirror Dance (1995)
Lois McMaster Bujold, The Vor Game (1991)
Lois McMaster Bujold, Paladin of Souls (2004)
Orson Scott Card, Ender's Game (1986)
Orson Scott Card, Speaker for the Dead (1987)
Michael Chabon, The Yiddish Policemen's Union (2008)
C. J. Cherryh, Downbelow Station (1982)
C. J. Cherryh, Cyteen (1989)
Arthur C. Clarke, Rendezvous with Rama (1974)
Arthur C. Clarke, The Fountains of Paradise (1980)
Susanna Clarke, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell (2005)
Mark Clifton & Frank Riley, They'd Rather Be Right [The Forever Machine] (1955)
Philip K. Dick, The Man in the High Castle (1963)
Philip José Farmer, To Your Scattered Bodies Go (1972)
Neil Gaiman, American Gods (2002)
Neil Gaiman, The Graveyard Book (2009)
William Gibson, Neuromancer (1985)
Joe Haldeman, The Forever War (1976)
Joe Haldeman, Forever Peace (1998)
Robert A. Heinlein, The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress (1967)
Robert A. Heinlein, Stranger in a Strange Land (1962)
Robert A. Heinlein, Starship Troopers (1960)
Robert A. Heinlein, Double Star (1956)
Frank Herbert, Dune (1966) [tie]
Ursula K. Le Guin, The Dispossessed (1975)
Ursula K. Le Guin, The Left Hand of Darkness (1970)
Fritz Leiber, The Wanderer (1965)
Vonda N. McIntyre, Dreamsnake (1979)
China Miéville, The City & the City (2010) [tie]
Walter M. Miller, Jr., A Canticle for Leibowitz (1961)
Larry Niven, Ringworld (1971)
Frederik Pohl, Gateway (1978)
Kim Stanley Robinson, Green Mars (1994)
Kim Stanley Robinson, Blue Mars (1997)
J. K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2001)
Robert J. Sawyer, Hominids (2003)
Clifford D. Simak, Here Gather the Stars [Way Station] (1964)
Dan Simmons, Hyperion (1990)
Neal Stephenson, The Diamond Age (1996)
Joan D. Vinge, The Snow Queen (1981)
Vernor Vinge, A Deepness in the Sky (2000)
Vernor Vinge, A Fire Upon the Deep (1993) [tie]
Vernor Vinge, Rainbows End (2007)
Kate Wilhelm, Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang (1977)
Connie Willis, To Say Nothing of the Dog (1999)
Connie Willis, Doomsday Book (1993) [tie]
Connie Willis, Blackout/All Clear (2011)
Robert Charles Wilson, Spin (2006)
Roger Zelazny, Lord of Light (1968)
Roger Zelazny, ...And Call Me Conrad [This Immortal] (1966) [tie]
Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved