Frequently Asked Question 15

prev <— FAQ thread —> next

Who's won Hugos in all fiction categories?

Only three writers have won Hugos in all four of the fiction categories: novel, novella, novelette, and short story (or earlier equivalent categories). Connie Willis, with multiple wins in every category except novelette, is the obvious leader here.

Ursula K. Le Guin
     The Left Hand of Darkness (novel, 1970)
     The Dispossessed (novel, 1975)
     The Word for World is Forest (novella, 1973)
     Buffalo Gals, Won't You Come Out Tonight (novelette, 1988)
     The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas (short story, 1974)
Fritz Leiber
     The Wanderer (novel, 1965)
     The Big Time (novel or novelette, 1958)
     Ship of Shadows (novella, 1970)
     Ill Met in Lankhmar (novella, 1971)
     Gonna Roll the Bones (novelette, 1968)
     Catch That Zeppelin! (short story, 1976)
Connie Willis
     Blackout/All Clear (novel, 2011)
     Doomsday Book (novel, 1993)
     To Say Nothing of the Dog (novel, 1999)
     The Last of the Winnebagos (novella, 1989)
     The Winds of Marble Arch (novella, 2000)
     Inside Job (novella, 2006)
     All Seated on the Ground (novella, 2008)
     Fire Watch (novelette, 1983)
     Even the Queen (short story, 1993)
     Death on the Nile (short story, 1994)
     The Soul Selects Her Own Society: Invasion and Repulsion: A Chronological Reinterpretation of Two of Emily Dickinson's Poems: A Wellsian Perspective (short story, 1997)
Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved