Frequently Asked Question 5

prev <— FAQ thread —> next

What novels have won both the Hugo and Nebula Awards?
[ List by Author | by Year ]

Twenty-one novels have won both awards, most recently Connie Willis' Blackout/All Clear, Michael Chabon's The Yiddish Policemen's Union, and Paolo Bacigalupi's The Windup Girl, with just five authors — Card, Clarke, Haldeman, Le Guin, and Willis — accounting for nearly half of them. Year shown is year of publication.

Isaac Asimov, The Gods Themselves (1972)
Paolo Bacigalupi, The Windup Girl (2009)
David Brin, Startide Rising (1983)
Lois McMaster Bujold, Paladin of Souls (2003)
Orson Scott Card, Ender's Game (1985)
Orson Scott Card, Speaker for the Dead (1986)
Michael Chabon, The Yiddish Policemen's Union (2007)
Arthur C. Clarke, Rendezvous with Rama (1973)
Arthur C. Clarke, The Fountains of Paradise (1979)
Neil Gaiman, American Gods (2001)
William Gibson, Neuromancer (1984)
Joe Haldeman, The Forever War (1974)
Joe Haldeman, Forever Peace (1997)
Frank Herbert, Dune (1965)
Ursula K. Le Guin, The Left Hand of Darkness (1969)
Ursula K. Le Guin, The Dispossessed (1974)
Vonda N. McIntyre, Dreamsnake (1978)
Larry Niven, Ringworld (1970)
Frederik Pohl, Gateway (1977)
Connie Willis, Doomsday Book (1992)
Connie Willis, Blackout/All Clear (2010)
Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved