Frequently Asked Question 7

prev <— FAQ thread —> next

What novels have won the most awards overall?

These counts include all awards and polls, major and minor — which, granted, can be like tabulating apples and oranges and blueberries — but these are the overall records. The most recent additions are China Miéville's The City & the City, published in 2009 and winner of 7 awards; earlier additions were Paolo Bacigalupi's The Windup Girl, published in 2009 and winner of five awards, and Cory Doctorow's Little Brother, published in 2008 and winner of five awards. Click on the author's name to see the list of each novel's awards (and nominations) in the Nominee Index.

7 China Miéville, The City & the City (2009)
   Arthur C. Clarke, Rendezvous with Rama (1973)
6 Connie Willis, Doomsday Book (1992)
   Frank Herbert, Dune (1965)
   Susanna Clarke, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell (2004)
   William Gibson, Neuromancer (1984)
   Michael Chabon, The Yiddish Policemen's Union (2007)
5 Neil Gaiman, American Gods (2001)
   Neil Gaiman, Anansi Boys (2005)
   Tim Powers, The Anubis Gates (1983)
   Vernor Vinge, A Deepness in the Sky (1999)
   Ursula K. Le Guin, The Dispossessed (1974)
   Frederik Pohl, Gateway (1977)
   Cory Doctorow, Little Brother (2008)
   China Miéville, Perdido Street Station (2000)
   Larry Niven, Ringworld (1970)
   Orson Scott Card, Speaker for the Dead (1986)
   Robert Charles Wilson, Spin (2005)
   Stephen Baxter, The Time Ships (1995)
   Connie Willis, To Say Nothing of the Dog (1998)
   Paolo Bacigalupi, The Windup Girl (2009)
4 Geoff Ryman, Air (2004)
   Maureen F. McHugh, China Mountain Zhang (1992)
   Dan Simmons, The Fall of Hyperion (1990)
   Joe Haldeman, Forever Peace (1997)
   Joe Haldeman, The Forever War (1974)
   Isaac Asimov, The Gods Themselves (1972)
   Dan Simmons, Hyperion (1989)
   Ursula K. Le Guin, The Left Hand of Darkness (1969)
   J. R. R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings (1955)
   Kim Stanley Robinson, Red Mars (1992)
   Mary Doria Russell, The Sparrow (1996)
   George R. R. Martin, A Storm of Swords (2000)
   Gregory Benford, Timescape (1980)
Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved