Table T15: Tally: Fantasy Writers, All Awards and Polls

Tallies of nominees for "Major Awards" include only the ten awards listed on the homepage under that heading. "All Awards" include all awards, prizes, and honors in the Index excluding only the Locus and five other reader polls. Tallies of "All Awards and Polls" include all nominees in the entire Index. The selections of "Nominees by Group" correspond to the Summary Results tables.

On these page both 'wins' and 'nominations' include career prizes , but fiction subtotals do not.

'Nominations' includes poll rankings below first place.

For tallies of nominees of particular awards, click on the award name from the Homepage, then click on 'Tallies'.

prev <— Tally thread —> next

This tally includes nominees in all categories of the World Fantasy, British Fantasy, Mythopoeic, Balrog, Gandalf, Crawford, and International Fantasy Awards, plus nominees for other awards in categories with "fantasy" (but not "horror") in the name. The leader, Stephen Jones, is an anthologist; Ramsey Campbell is the fantasy writer with the most wins.

Total Wins

23 Stephen Jones
16 Ramsey Campbell
14 Neil Gaiman
12 Stephen King, David Sutton, J. R. R. Tolkien
10 Ellen Datlow, Terri Windling
9 Terry Pratchett, Gene Wolfe

Total Nominations
[Number of wins in brackets]

67 Stephen Jones [23]
66 Stephen King [12]
46 Ellen Datlow [10]
45 Ramsey Campbell [16]
44 Charles de Lint [4]
43 Neil Gaiman [14]
42 Patricia A. McKillip [8]
37 Tanith Lee [3], Terry Pratchett [9]
36 Terri Windling [10], Gene Wolfe [9]
33 David Sutton [12]
32 Ursula K. Le Guin [6]
29 Charles L. Grant [4]
27 Peter Straub [5]
26 George R. R. Martin [8]
25 Guy Gavriel Kay [1], Michael Moorcock [7], Tim Powers [6]
23 Jonathan Carroll [2], Stephen R. Donaldson [5], Fritz Leiber [7]

Number of nominations without ever having won

15 Robin Hobb
12 Lisa Goldstein, M. John Harrison, Nancy Springer
11 Emma Bull, Barbara Hambly, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, R. A. MacAvoy
10 David Eddings, J. Gregory Keyes
9 Harry O. Morris, Jr., Connie Willis, Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
8 Gary McMahon
7 Kage Baker, Greg Bear, Martin H. Greenberg, Caitlín R. Kiernan, Paul Lewis, John Jude Palencar, Paul Park, Charles Stross, Tad Williams, Robert Charles Wilson
6 Joe Abercrombie, Gardner Dozois, Mary Gentle, Jay Lake, Glenda Larke, Paul Mikol, Will Shetterly, Scot Stadalsky, Christopher Teague

Total Losses
Number of times nominated but lost [Number of wins in bracket]

54 Stephen King [12]
44 Stephen Jones [23]
40 Charles de Lint [4]
36 Ellen Datlow [10]
34 Tanith Lee [3], Patricia A. McKillip [8]
29 Ramsey Campbell [16], Neil Gaiman [14]
28 Terry Pratchett [9]
27 Gene Wolfe [9]
26 Ursula K. Le Guin [6], Terri Windling [10]
25 Charles L. Grant [4]
24 Guy Gavriel Kay [1]
22 Peter Straub [5]
21 Jonathan Carroll [2], David Sutton [12]
19 Tim Powers [6]
Page Last Updated Tue Nov 22 2011
Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved