Table T16: Tally: Horror Writers, All Awards and Polls

Tallies of nominees for "Major Awards" include only the ten awards listed on the homepage under that heading. "All Awards" include all awards, prizes, and honors in the Index excluding only the Locus and five other reader polls. Tallies of "All Awards and Polls" include all nominees in the entire Index. The selections of "Nominees by Group" correspond to the Summary Results tables.

On these page both 'wins' and 'nominations' include career prizes , but fiction subtotals do not.

'Nominations' includes poll rankings below first place.

For tallies of nominees of particular awards, click on the award name from the Homepage, then click on 'Tallies'.

prev <— Tally thread —> next

This tally includes all categories of Stoker and International Horror Guild Awards, as well as works nominated in any category containing the word 'horror' in all other awards.

Total Wins

15 Stephen King
12 Peter Straub
10 Dan Simmons
9 Joe R. Lansdale
7 Gary A. Braunbeck, Ramsey Campbell, Harlan Ellison
6 Ellen Datlow, Stephen Jones, Kim Newman, Lucius Shepard

Total Nominations
[Number of wins in brackets]

51 Stephen King [15]
25 Ramsey Campbell [7]
24 Peter Straub [12]
22 Joe R. Lansdale [9]
20 Stephen Jones [6]
19 Kim Newman [6]
18 Gary A. Braunbeck [7]

Number of nominations without ever having won

10 Laird Barron
9 Dennis Etchison
8 Mort Castle, Dean Koontz
7 Brian Stableford
6 Tanith Lee, China Miéville, David J. Skal
5 Scott Edelman, Graham Joyce, Wayne Allen Sallee
4 Jack Dann, Bradley Denton, Tananarive Due, Tina L. Jens, Steve Niles, Paul F. Olson, Douglas Walters

Total Losses
Number of times nominated but lost [Number of wins in bracket]

36 Stephen King [15]
18 Ramsey Campbell [7]
14 Stephen Jones [6]
13 Joe R. Lansdale [9], Kim Newman [6]
Page Last Updated Tue Nov 22 2011
Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved