Table T9: Tally: Novelists, Major Awards

Tallies of nominees for "Major Awards" include only the ten awards listed on the homepage under that heading. "All Awards" include all awards, prizes, and honors in the Index excluding only the Locus and five other reader polls. Tallies of "All Awards and Polls" include all nominees in the entire Index. The selections of "Nominees by Group" correspond to the Summary Results tables.

On these page both 'wins' and 'nominations' include career prizes , but fiction subtotals do not.

'Nominations' includes poll rankings below first place.

For tallies of nominees of particular awards, click on the award name from the Homepage, then click on 'Tallies'.

prev <— Tally thread —> next

Restricting the tally to novelists, and to 'major' awards (Hugo through Tiptree, as listed on the homepage of this index), Ursula K. Le Guin moved ahead of Joe Haldeman in 2009, leading with 8 awards to Haldeman's 7.

Total Wins

8 Ursula K. Le Guin
7 Joe Haldeman
6 Lois McMaster Bujold, Peter Straub, Connie Willis
5 Arthur C. Clarke, Stephen King, China Miéville, Frederik Pohl, Geoff Ryman
4 Isaac Asimov, David Brin, Orson Scott Card, Neil Gaiman, Robert A. Heinlein, Robert R. McCammon, Tim Powers, Kim Stanley Robinson, J. K. Rowling, Vernor Vinge, Gene Wolfe

Total Nominations
[Number of wins in brackets]

22 Gene Wolfe [4]
21 Stephen King [5], Robert Silverberg [2]
20 Greg Bear [2]
19 Kim Stanley Robinson [4]
18 China Miéville [5]
17 Lois McMaster Bujold [6], Jack McDevitt [2], Sheri S. Tepper
16 Robert J. Sawyer [3], Connie Willis [6]
15 Poul Anderson [1], Robert A. Heinlein [4], Ian McDonald [2]
14 David Brin [4], Ken MacLeod
13 William Gibson [3], Ursula K. Le Guin [8], Larry Niven [2]
12 Orson Scott Card [4], James Morrow [2], Frederik Pohl [5], Tim Powers [4], Geoff Ryman [5], Dan Simmons [3], Neal Stephenson [2], Robert Charles Wilson [3]
11 Stephen Baxter [2], Samuel R. Delany [2], Gwyneth Jones [3], Bruce Sterling [2], Peter Straub [6], Vernor Vinge [4]
10 Nalo Hopkinson, Paul J. McAuley [3], Charles Stross, Michael Swanwick [1]
9 John Barnes, Philip K. Dick [2], Joe Haldeman [7], George R. R. Martin
8 Michael Bishop [1], C. J. Cherryh [2], Nancy Kress [1], Roger Zelazny [2]

Number of nominations without ever having won

17 Sheri S. Tepper
14 Ken MacLeod
10 Nalo Hopkinson, Charles Stross
9 John Barnes, George R. R. Martin
7 Jonathan Carroll, Charles L. Grant, Justina Robson, John Varley

Total Losses
Number of times nominated but lost [Number of wins in bracket]

19 Robert Silverberg [2]
18 Greg Bear [2], Gene Wolfe [4]
17 Sheri S. Tepper
16 Stephen King [5]
15 Jack McDevitt [2], Kim Stanley Robinson [4]
14 Poul Anderson [1], Ken MacLeod
13 Ian McDonald [2], China Miéville [5], Robert J. Sawyer [3]
11 Lois McMaster Bujold [6], Robert A. Heinlein [4], Larry Niven [2]
10 David Brin [4], William Gibson [3], Nalo Hopkinson, James Morrow [2], Neal Stephenson [2], Charles Stross, Connie Willis [6]
9 John Barnes, Stephen Baxter [2], Samuel R. Delany [2], George R. R. Martin, Dan Simmons [3], Bruce Sterling [2], Michael Swanwick [1], Robert Charles Wilson [3]
8 Orson Scott Card [4], Gwyneth Jones [3], Tim Powers [4]
7 Michael Bishop [1], Jonathan Carroll, Philip K. Dick [2], Charles L. Grant, Nancy Kress [1], Paul J. McAuley [3], Frederik Pohl [5], Justina Robson, Geoff Ryman [5], John Varley, Vernor Vinge [4]
Page Last Updated Tue Nov 22 2011
Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved