About the Awards
James Tiptree Jr Memorial Award


By Year

Winners and
Complete List by Nominee
Records and Tallies

Judges List

• Results by Year:

prev <— About Page thread —> next

The James Tiptree, Jr. Award is an annual literary prize for "science fiction or fantasy that explores and expands the roles of women and men for work by both women and men". It's named after Alice B. Sheldon, who wrote under the pseudonym James Tiptree, Jr. for many years before revealing her identity and real name.

Full Name James Tiptree, Jr. Award
First year given 1992, for works published in 1991
History Founded by Pat Murphy and Karen Joy Fowler
Who James Tiptree, Jr. Literary Award Council
What Check for $1000
Where & When Annual at various conventions, most recently Wiscon in Madison, Wisconsin
Scope Novels and short fiction are both eligible; theme 'gender-bending fiction'
Eligibility period Year prior to judging
Dating convention Recently changed so year of award corresponds to year of publication.
Type prize
Process Five judges are selected each year, who evaluate recommendations submitted by publishers and by readers. Judges choose a winner, and release a 'shortlist' and sometimes a 'longlist' of other works they feel merit attention, though those lists are not considered to be finalists or runners-up.
Website http://www.tiptree.org/

Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved