World Fantasy Awards Records and Tallies
World Fantasy Awards


By Year
By Category

Winners and
Complete List by Nominee
Records and Tallies

Judges List

• Results by Year:

Record winners
Anthologists Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling have each won the WFA 9 times, while Jeffrey Ford has won it most often, 6 times, for works of fiction (including collections). Gene Wolfe has won 5 awards, the 5th in 2010.

Losers Club (Most nominations with no wins)
Kim Newman has leaped to the front of those nominees with the most nominations and no wins, with 10; Joe R. Lansdale and Harry O. Morris Jr. follow with 9 each.

Never Even Nominated
Terry Brooks, David Eddings, Robert Jordan, Mercedes Lackey, Anne McCaffrey, and J.K. Rowling have never been even nominated for a WFA; nor has J.R.R. Tolkien, who preceded the awards.

(Note: tallies here and on the Nominee List count winners of the Life Achievement Award (*) as one nomination and one win.)

Total World Fantasy Wins
(Number of fiction wins in parentheses)

9 Ellen Datlow, Terri Windling
6 Jeffrey Ford (6)
5 Donald M. Grant*, Gene Wolfe* (5)
4 Ramsey Campbell (3), Elizabeth Hand (4), Stephen King* (4), Margo Lanagan (4), Stuart David Schiff, Peter Straub* (3)
3 Betty Ballantine*, Hugh B. Cave* (3), John Crowley* (3), Avram Davidson* (3), Dennis Etchison (1), Edward L. Ferman*, Karen Joy Fowler (3), Charles L. Grant (1), Stephen Jones, Ursula K. Le Guin* (3), Fritz Leiber* (3), Richard Matheson* (3), Kirby McCauley*, Patricia A. McKillip* (3), Rosalie Parker, Shaun Tan, Charles Vess (1), Michael Whelan, Gahan Wilson*
2 Paul C. Allen, Ellen Asher*, Ian Ballantine, James P. Blaylock (2), Everett F. Bleiler*, Richard Bowes (2), Thomas Canty, Fred Chappell (2), Richard T. Chizmar, Lee Brown Coye, Peter Crowther, Andy Duncan (2), Harlan Ellison* (2), Carol Emshwiller* (2), Arnie Fenner, John M. Ford (2), Frank Frazetta*, W. Paul Ganley, Edward Gorey, David G. Hartwell, Robert Holdstock (2), Gwyneth Jones (2), Tanith Lee (2), Kelly Link (1), Elizabeth A. Lynn (2), Ian R. MacLeod (2), Marc Michaud, Michael Moorcock* (2), James Morrow (2), Andre Norton* (2), J. K. Potter, Tim Powers (2), M. Rickert (2), Barbara Roden, Christopher Roden, Bruce Holland Rogers (2), Ray Russell* (1), George H. Scithers*, Michael Shea (2), Lucius Shepard (2), Dan Simmons (2), Sheree R. Thomas, Gordon Van Gelder, Jason Van Hollander, Jack Vance* (2), Jeff VanderMeer (1), Karl Edward Wagner (1), Evangeline Walton* (2), Robert Weinberg, Manly Wade Wellman* (2), Donald A. Wollheim, Jane Yolen* (1)

Total World Fantasy Nominations
(Number of fiction nominations in parentheses)
[Number of wins in brackets]

38 Ellen Datlow [9]
29 Terri Windling [9]
26 Stephen Jones [3]
23 Charles L. Grant (12) [3]
19 Stephen King (19) [4]
18 Charles de Lint (17) [1]
15 Kelly Link (9) [2], Lucius Shepard (15) [2]
14 Ramsey Campbell (10) [4]

World Fantasy Never-Winners
Number of nominations without ever having won
(Fiction nominations in parentheses)

10 Kim Newman (9)
9 Joe R. Lansdale (6), Harry O. Morris, Jr.
7 Martin H. Greenberg, John Jude Palencar
6 Paul Mikol, Michael Marshall Smith (5), Scot Stadalsky
5 Jill Bauman, Michael Bishop (5), Gardner Dozois, Glen Hirshberg (5), John Klima, David Pringle
4 Tracy Cocoman, Les Daniels (3), Lester del Rey, Bob Eggleton, Lisa Goldstein (4), Nina Kiriki Hoffman (4), Caitlín R. Kiernan (4), Tim Kirk, H. Warner Munn (4), Chris Roberson (1), Joe Stefko, Chelsea Quinn Yarbro (4)

Total World Fantasy Losses
Number of times nominated but lost [Number of wins in bracket]

29 Ellen Datlow [9]
23 Stephen Jones [3]
20 Charles L. Grant [3], Terri Windling [9]
17 Charles de Lint [1]
15 Stephen King [4]
13 Kelly Link [2], Lucius Shepard [2]
12 David Sutton [1]
11 Thomas Canty [2]
Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved